We are a lot of Foreigners on Steemit, so what if some words are spelled grong? people find it adorable!

My native language is Norwegian and I learned English from watching Eddie Murphy and Bruce Willis on Video back in the days when a Video really was a Video and we could rent one for 24 hours for 50,- NOK, which is the local currency where I am from - Norske Kroner.

The Neighboring countries to us are Russia, Finland, Sweden and Denmark - well and Iceland, far out in the ocean where only a few of us have been but many of us want to go. That is where the artist Bjørk comes from, not Bjork, that is the wrong way to spell it :).

My first name is Kjetil, yes - Kjetil. And if your native language is english, your attempt to speak my name sounds completely retarded in my ears - but I too find it very adorable that you try :)

So how do you say my name in english?

Many people have come with great suggestions on how to spell Kjetil so that it is easier for Americans to say it, and the most original I´ve seen so far is Shit-Hill :) - The Internet is wonderful right? - Saying my name is easy, it is Chetil. :)

So if you are afraid to start steeming because your english is not academicly correct, don´t worry about it. We are many many people in here who can see your diamond in the lump of coal once you dive out in it. So let me encourage you to give it your best try and never give up :)

You are awesome!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center