A Love Letter To My Addiction

My first English writing assignment was quite challenging as we had to write "A Love Letter" to an object of our choice. The first thing that popped into my mind was my addiction to caffeinated soda due to the stormy relationship I have with it. Trying to kick this addiction has been a total nightmare, especially when I am exhausted or stressed, craving my picker-upper.

I once called my favourite drink(Cola Tonic and Lemonade) my "Precious" as a joke to my children. Ever since that day, whenever they see me down or in a bad mood, they would ask me if they can get me a fix of my "Precious" which is not helping me much in my quest to conquer my weakness. Unfortunately, my "Precious" is affecting my health and adds quite a bit of extra padding to my once gorgeous body. (wink wink)

Without further ado, here is what I wrote:

My dearest Precious

You, my effervescent soft drink, bubbled your way into my life and showed me the meaning of love, sip by sip. With you by my side, I have entered a journey of transformation. Since that first taste, I lost all my senses and knew I never wanted to spend another day without you.

You have become my addiction, my mood fixer, with your sparkling personality and deliciously sinful taste. When you are not with me, I crave the experience of your popping bubbles on my tongue, sending tingling sensations throughout my mouth and right to the back of my throat.

My love for you, my caffeinated fix, increases the firing speed of the neurons in my brain, hyping the levels of endorphins, giving my heart that pleasant sensation, awakening my emotions and making me more alert.

Your affection strips calcium from my bones, causes my blood pressure to increase, my insulin levels to skyrocket and my waistline to grow. You affect my cognitive abilities and sleep has abandoned me, as you constantly consume my thoughts. I experience withdrawal symptoms when we are apart and cannot imagine life without you.

Whenever I put my lips to you, I feel at home. Nothing compares to the joy and contentment I experience when with you. You are my life and worth every sacrifice I make. You are my everlasting concoction of joy; I promise I will not take you for granted.

Love
Your slave forever


Image Credit

Let's have some fun: If you have to write a love letter to an object, which one will you pick, and what will you say to it?

Keep smiling, reading writing and voting!!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now