RE: RE: International Women’s Day: A Reflection on Loving Women, Girls and Mary Jane ❤︎
You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: International Women’s Day: A Reflection on Loving Women, Girls and Mary Jane ❤︎

RE: International Women’s Day: A Reflection on Loving Women, Girls and Mary Jane ❤︎

I deeply appreciate your acknowledgement and thoughtful reply @mountainjewel. What age were you when you made the decision to call the hospital for your friend? Having to pay a hefty hospital bill adds a whole other level of upset that we don't necessarily experience here in Canada.

Isn't it wonderful that next generation has more tools, forums, spaces and information available to them? Even the discords that you mention. (Yes I would like to be a part of the discord) My experiences as a teen happened over 20 years ago, just when the internet was becoming available to us at school. There were no GSAs and if people in our town were openly queer, gay, bi, lesbian or trans, they would be bullied and ostracized. So we did have to hide and deny our truths about loving one another outside the heteronormative standard.

I know that my parents were quite young and doing their best and also that they came from a generation that fought in massive wars and somehow survived the great depression. There is a lot of fear 'of other' that still remains in our culture. I also honour that I wouldn't be the human I am today with out this past. Again thanks for your response, You've inspired me to excavate and share the next chapter of my journey. <3

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now