Hive witness update log #19: 1 year of block production

witness update 19.png

First of all, I would like to thank everyone that has taken the time to cast a vote on me in the last 12 months.

It has been over 10M blocks or 1 year since I produced my first block on this chain as a whole, or this block if only counting Hive blocks, and survived 1 hard fork and a chain split. This would not be possible without your support.

Progress in infrastructure changes

As announced in my previous witness update log, I'm currently in the process of migrating most of the services that I'm maintaining to other servers.

Right now this is nearly complete, except my main techcoderx.com RPC endpoint that I took offline today. Other services including witness nodes and OneLoveIPFS uploader have already been successfully migrated and running smoothly on their new places.

The full RPC node (now separate from witness node) has already been fully replayed with Hivemind synced up to the head block. Jussi has already been set up and tested working with all endpoints (at least the fully working ones with all other RPCs). The only thing left is to get dynamic DNS to fully work and to set up monitoring tools to make administration (and producing the reports below) easier.

The new witness node(s)

After searching endlessly through many Black Friday/Cyber Monday deals, I was disappointed with this year's deals as compared to the previous years which got me started into block production in the first place.

I ended up with a VPS L SSD from Contabo (yes I know many other backup witnesses use them which is bad for decentralization). I managed to snap up one of those that came with 2nd month free.

Basically, it includes the following for €18/month:

Intel Xeon E5-2630 v4 (8 Cores, 2.2 GHz)
30 GB DDR4 ECC RAM
800GB SSD
600 Mbit unmetered bandwidth
KVM Virtualization
Location: St. Louis, Missouri, USA

As usual, I will be running it in MIRA (replayed entirely in-memory). Disk IO and CPU performance is as expected for the price, probably not very capable of running it using BMIC.

The details of the new full RPC node will be unveiled in another post once it is ready 😉

Witness performance

Let's see how well my witness performed lately :)

Current rank: 93rd (active rank 86th)
Votes: 4,087 MVests
Voter count: 128

Producer rewards (7 days): 25.91 HP
Producer rewards (30 days): 109.26 HP
Missed blocks: 1

Server resource statistics

This section will be present in every witness update logs (if any of my nodes are online) to provide new witnesses up-to-date information about the system requirements for running a Hive node.

block_log file size: 299 GB

hived (v1.24.7, MIRA, low memory)

RocksDB database size: 8.2 GB
RAM usage: 1.3 GB

hived (v1.24.6, BMIC, all plugins)

416G    account-history-rocksdb-storage
299G    block_log
376M    block_log.index
21G shared_memory.bin
736G    total

hivemind (0d09ea5f)

Output of SELECT pg_size_pretty( pg_database_size('hive') );
Database size: 644 GB

Postgresql has been eating up all my RAM even though I nearly maxed it out to whatever amount that is supported by the CPU :\

No server bandwidth utilization will be included in this report as I need to sort out server monitoring on my new setup. Jussi reports will be back soon also.

Hive witness footer 2.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency