Is this just a malfunction or is it due to something more sinister?

I have noticed some strange behavior from the blockchain with regards to rewards. This is the story of one such event. There have been many more.

I would like to stress the point, that this is not about the loss of 0.something Steem. It is about protecting the integrity, viability and value of Steem and the Steemit platform as a whole.

The short story:
As you can verify for yourselves, @kiwiwsteem voted 100% for the post 18 seconds before @joe.public
I voted 100% for this post from my @joe.public account and was the second voter according to the screenshot.

The post ends up looking like this:

Now I am not that bright, but i would expect to receive curation rewards on both of my accounts however none were awarded.
From the @joe.public account

From the @kiwisteem account

These being plain and simple facts, they seem to beg the questions:

Have the rules changed regarding the timing of voting, such that you get NO curation reward for voting before a certain time?
Is this just a malfunction or is it due to something more sinister?

I do hope people with a lot more technical ability than myself look into these events as I am certain that I am not the only person these things are happening to.

''And there comes a time when one must take a position that is neither safe, nor politic, nor popular, but one must take it because one's conscience tells one that it is right” Martin Luther King Jr.

Please consider re-steeming this post

Edit
Can anyone tell me if Post Promotion is really turned off please. If not I have 1 SBD if someone can help me out with promoting it.
Cheers

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency