Witness Update - 6/6/2017 - More Human Than Human

I've officially been a Steemit backup witness for 7 days now, and I've already made it to position 40! Thank you all for your support.

What I've done so far:

  • Learned a lot and gained practical experience on the process of running a steemit witness node along with a reliable price feed which updates every hour.

  • Wrote a piece explaining the importance of voting for witnesses.

  • Wrote a bash script to monitor my witness node and made it available to the other witnesses as well. This is helpful because it can alert a witness before their node starts missing blocks.

  • Wrote about chainBB to raise awareness for that project and how you can donate to it just by using it. My chainBB posts raised 91 STEEM in just three days!

  • Used my Exchange Transfer Report this week to try out @heimindanger's tool for allocating post rewards to other users.

  • Started recording some videos to help with blockchain education which I will soon make available via understandingblockchainfreedom.com

  • Most importantly, I successfully updated my witness node to version 0.19.0 in preparation for the next hard fork! The whole process took about 39 minutes, including a full re-sync of the blockchain.

It's been a really fun first week as a backup witness!

Thanks again for all your words of encouragement and support. I really appreciate it.

You can vote for my witness node @lukestokes.mhth here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses

My witness announcement post is here.

I hope you're having a great week so far!


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, business owner, programmer, voluntaryist, and blockchain enthusiast. He wants to help create a world we all want to live in.

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency