Explaining the STEEM Blockchain Freeze of July 2nd, 2018

Here's a quick video update of what happened last night when the STEEM blockchain froze.

Getting three text messages all at once was certainly a freak out moment!

notification.png

Finding new error messages in the logs I've never seen before was also quite interesting:

I was quick to jump into the Steemdevs Slack:

Screen Shot 2018-07-03 at 3.36.39 PM.png

As well as the #witness steem chat:

Screen Shot 2018-07-03 at 3.38.52 PM.png

I'm very thankful @andrarchy was available to send out this tweet to our community:

As I mentioned in the video, the witnesses and Steemit, inc did a great job working hard to get this chain back up and running as quickly as possible. Improvements I'd still like to see from Steemit, inc include a professional site down page that is immediately in place (instead of a generic 503 Error Response page) along with a status page people can go to with regular updates in real time as to what is going on. Some of this was mentioned 8 months ago. That said, they did Tweet this time and stay in close contact with the Witnesses as things were happening in real time. That's a big improvement.

Thank you all for watching/reading and for your support of my witness account!


As of this post, I'm currently position 10!

If you want to know more about what witnesses do check out:

You can read my witness announcement post here:

My previous witness updates:

I only post witness updates when I have something worth sharing, but I'm always available if you have a question or concern. I can be reached on Discord or Rocketchat.


Luke Stokes is a father, husband, programmer, STEEM witness, DAC launcher, and voluntaryist who wants to help create a world we all want to live in. Learn about cryptocurrency at UnderstandingBlockchainFreedom.com

I'm a Witness! Please vote for @lukestokes.mhth

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
39 Comments
Ecency