Anyx, Cheetah, and Steemcleaners; witness update - 14-10-2016


Watching the gathering storm, in Big Sur, California. Photo by me (and with permission!)


1. Accomplished the past week:

  • SBD Price feed: Witnesses have been moving their bias variable to the 'base' section of the price feed, so that it's easy to show what one's rate is. I did the same when I realized the trick. I also asked @jesta to also note the % bias on https://steemdb.com/witnesses. So now you can see for example that my bias this week is set to 13%.
    • My bias is still high for the same reasons as last week -- not much movement closing the SBD peg, and we still have too much SBD in the system, causing an 'unfriendly' payout in a mix of steem, steem power, and sbd. @clayop had an excellent post on the current effect of the price feed discount on the market. I still however believe that we need a temporary large discount in order to remove the overload of SBD from the economy. Yes, this can potentially cause more selling pressure on steem, however I don't believe it is as significant compared to all the whales currently selling.
  • For @cheetah, I softened the message (again) and also differentiated a same-author repost from a web catch.
    • Still working out what to do about 'series' posts and 'reposts'. There is a big difference in my mind which is acceptable and which is not.
  • I changed the community reward payout system this last week for @steemcleaners to be in VESTS.
    • Members of steemcleaners are still rewarded in SBD, mostly due to reasons of operational costs of internal servers, bots, websites, etc.
    • Some people are not happy with this change. Tough luck! Hopefully it will encourage 'thinking long-term' behaviour.
  • I have started getting involved in the golos project.
    • One thing to see is if I am able to get cheetah running in a different language! However, it would require a russian speaker to actually manage it.
    • We killed the test network! I got @abit to come and help, where we found the source of an integer overflow due to the initial distribution of VEST funds. He mentions this in his update, here.
  • As usual, I participated as a @steemcleaners member to help fight abuse. Here's part one of last weeks report.

2. Upcoming projects/goals:

  • I will likely focus some attention on golos for a little while, as they are just getting bootstrapped. Hopefully we only break the test network, and not the real one. :)
  • I have a few ideas in mind for @cheetah on how to allow 'series' posts and differentiate it from 'reposts'. I need to flesh it out before integrating it though.

3. Thoughts from the past week:

    This week was a bit quieter than last. I've had some fun toying with the golos test network, which is currently broken. :) I see it as even more of an experiment than steem, but it has the ability to be very sucessful if done right. And if it's successful, then steem will get a boost as well! So I hope to contribute as much as I can, despite the language barrier for me.

    The new registration system for an account is now in place, with SMS validation. I am very, very happy that this change is finally out, as I believe it will be much harder for users to abusively create accounts. This might mean that we can finally do some damage to the hundreds of users that freely and easily created new accounts once they got caught plagiarizing. Maybe this means that reputation will finally matter?
I can only hope that steemit took care of burner numbers...

4. Plans/usage of witness funding:

    100% of my power down each week has been sent to @steemcleaners. This also includes my own SP, from my own post rewards and curation rewards. I intend to continue this while I am a top19 witness. When you vote for witnesses, I encourage you to think about what each witness is using their funding for! I give a special shout out this week to @liondani (newly in the top 19) for the continued support to the steemfest travel reimbursement fund. Check the transfer history!

    Don't forget, you can also support @steemcleaners by upvoting the posts that our @steemcleaners account makes. All rewards (including my witness funding) are distributed back to the community. Read about how steemcleaners does this, here.


Finally, don't forget to vote for witnesses here. Every vote matters!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center