What's up Wednesday: Bites and offers

Copy of Change (4).png

"Hey, do you want to grab a bite?" The unexpected voice on the other end of the phone asked me. The tone of the last word sounded just a little too upbeat, their voice tilted upwards in an attempt to sound casual, but they over did it. Something was up.

I'd answered my personal phone a few moments earlier to someone I'd not expected to hear from, a person I worked with before they left to do something different, a business of their own creation. Never one to turn down a bite to eat I went to the meeting yesterday curious to see what was up...And to have some lunch.

The initial bite


We went to a pretty cool spot, a continental market-place Mercato that also has a café and bakery. If you're looking for something anything Italian food or cooking related this is the place and it's also common to see one-on-one business meetings taking place as the coffee is good and the food better; it's a nice casual environment for casual business meetings.

After ordering we sat and chatted about nothing much in particular: the chaps young son, the pandemic situation and how it has changed society for the worse and so on.

Before long our coffee and food arrived; we'd both gone for the simple option of a couple of cold-cuts, olives, cheese, roasted capsicum [red peppers] and sundried tomato on crusty ciabatta bread rolls. Conversation continued around bites of our lunch and as crumbs feel and time passed it began to turn more towards business - the business environment - how each of us were handling it, strategies and what the future may hold. I began to understand what I was doing there right about then.

Offers


I saw it coming; the offer.

I'll be completely honest and say that I was somewhat pleased as it showed that my efforts had been noted and the value I'd produced over many years respected; Will you come and work for me tends to send that message rather loudly and it's not at all a bad thing to hear.

I listened to the pitch, a fairly convoluted, and probably rehearsed speech, that sold the attributes of the company, the vision, road-map to get there and my place within it. Of course remuneration was touched upon and it all sounded pretty good indeed.

Throughout I was careful not to show too much interest yet look interested enough that he'd feel comfortable to open up and keep talking. The more information I could gain the better as this matter would require a decision at some stage and either way there were far-reaching implications, or the possibility of such anyway. I needed all the information.

The secondary bite


An hour after we arrived and began talking he started winding down; the sell was done, information delivered, the pitch complete.

The tone at the small round table, now cleared of the lunch plates and coffee cups, was once again social and not business oriented in the last bit. It was time for more coffee and a couple biscuits.

I opted for brutti ma buoni which translates loosely as ugly but good. These amazingly good biscuits are sort of crunchy on the outside and chewy on the inside and are very tasty, but ugly. They arrived along with espresso coffee's and we went back to casual conversation that skirted around the burning question...Will you come and work for me?

Shortly after went our separate ways; me to contemplate what I'd heard and what it might mean for my immediate future and him to - well I don't know what - Pray to the gods I'll accept his offer without a counter offer maybe. I'm not sure what to make of it all however was happy to have someone out there feeling I have value enough to make an offer like that. It was a good offer and one I'll put a lot of thought into of course.


Now, what's up on your Wednesday? Are you working or do you have something of a more enjoyable nature planned? Let me know below what's been happening if you like, I'd love to hear from you.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised so be humble and kind

Discord: galenkp#9209

Image is mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
30 Comments
Ecency