Writing Contest - What Would You Do If You Were a Steemit Whale? || What if...?

wal-2722172_1920.jpg
Source

While browsing different posts here on Steemit, I found an interesting contest: What would you do if you were a Steemit whale? hosted by @mermaidvampire.
I usually enter photography contests as my biggest passion is photography but this writing competition, especially the theme, intrigued me. So why not giving a shot and my honest opinion about being a Steemit whale?

Firstly, who are these famous whales? I'm on Steemit since March 2018 and I did not meet a whale so far. I've heard some rumors about this mythical creatures and not very nice things. Apparently they tend to overtake the ecosystem by capturing the trending pages and fighting each other. Purpose: as always, money. Flagging each other, nasty comments and other unusual arms are being used in the cetacean war.
I don't believe that these rumors are entirely true but something fishy started them. As I said before, I did not meet a whale so far and I cannot believe that they are all so bad.

Now I will try to answer to the question asked by @mermaidvampire. What would I do if I was a Steemit whale? Hmm...I think world peace and saving the Amazonian forests is a little too much, right? So let's keep it real. I'm thinking of three main actions:

  1. Delegating some of my SP to the initiatives I support
    To understand the above statement, I must tell you something about me. I'm an amateur photographer with a deep love for nature and its wonders. Currently I'm working as an IT manager but I studied biochemistry, this being my true call. I'm also a crazy cat lady and I care about animals and their well being.
    This being said, if I was a Steemit whale, I would delegate some of my SP to a wonderful photography community (@photofriend), to a great pet lovers group (@dpet) and to some wonderful green initiatives like @worlwildflora and @gogreenbuddy.
    These are some of the projects I'm being involved in but my delegations would go to other initiatives or steemians who share the same passions with me.

  2. Donating money
    There are so many unfortunate people around the world. Poverty, disease, hunger...it's becoming harder and harder to combat these plagues without help.
    If I was a Steemit whale, I would try to donate some of the earned money. There are many causes which deserve support and what can be easier than giving some sbd via a click?
    I would not support those requests starting with I'm a poor person and I want to buy a new phone or camera or whatever. This is not asking for help but requests for satisfying some foolish whims without putting too much work.

  3. Helping minnows
    We all know how frustrating can be to write a good post and get no upvotes. Not to mention the very desired $$$. How can a whale change this? By simply upvoting and resteeming the quality content, no matter who the author is.
    What if a newly joined steemian publish an outstanding article or an amazing photo? If I'm a whale should I ignore this post and upvote another big fat marine creature just because we know each other or we are part of the same phylum? Not good, this must be changed.

These are some of the main actions I would do as a whale. If you like these ideas, Vote for @roxy-cat as whale!. 🙂
On a serious note, all steemians dream about becoming whales. I'm not different and, even if I consider Steemit the best alternative to Facebook or other social media sites, I secretly imagine what if?. I guess it would be great to wake up one morning and see a three digits figure on the bottom of your post. Or a fat juicy fish next to your name on SteemitBoard.
Until then...many days will pass (unless you sign a pact with the devil and start using the bots...something that I will not be doing as lately Steemit became a Matrix like environment due to the excessive use of bots).
I will continue to post my photos, write good articles when I'm inspired and connect to the great people I met on Steemit. If I will become a whale, even better...I will be able to offer more support to newbies and my friends.

And since you cannot have too much fun alone, I will ask some of my friends to share their opinion on this topic. Hopefully they will accept.
The first person I would like to tag is @lindari. This amazing person always upvoted my posts, her comments are always nice and I'm very lucky to call her my friend.
Next, I will nominate @cave-man. Great photographer, sensitive poet, the funniest person I've met on Steemit.
And, how could I forget my "wild flora" buddy? @artofwisdom and I share the same passion for nature and photography. I really hope he will share his whale dream with us. 🙂

In the end, I wish you all Happy steeming! and "Good luck with getting fat!" (aka becoming whales).

P.S.: I usually use my own photos but I'm living in the mountains and the whales are very rare around here. 🙂


Picture1.png

QvAAKWXl.gif
Member of The Steemian Directory
QvAAKWXl.gif

WorldWildFlora Discord server: https://discord.gg/sRY4du9

QvAAKWXl.gif
Logopit_1526205802368.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency