From XL to S - My Weightloss Journey

It all started when a friend of mine sent me a photo comparing me to Princess Fiona of Shrek as a joke. We laughed about it but deep down I was hurt & shocked to see myself as I never realized how much weight I have put on until I saw that photo of me.

image

Five years back, I weighed at 127lbs which was ideal for my petite height. But constant night out with friends, eating unhealthily (binging on fast foods, donuts, cakes, ice cream..u name it) & zero exercise led me to gaining some weight. Without realizing, I have put on over 44lbs! This has made my self-confidence dropped, I abstained myself from buying new clothes, hated my pictures taken, taking selfies or wefies or whatever people nowadays call it.

Not until I saw that photo of me then I realized that I needed to do something for myself. So I saved the picture on my phone and made it as a reminder and a motivation for me to change myself. After a few months of working out & eating right, I started to shed some weights – from 183lbs I was down to 159lbs!

Unfortunately, the “Lazyness-Syndrome” kicked in. I started skipping the gym, rather lay in bed imagining myself working out (as if that helps 😒)! By Christmas of 2016, I was up at 166lbs and still overweight. During our Christmas family gathering that year, my uncle announced our own biggest loser challenge for our family members who were obese and overweight (including me) where the winner of the challenge who manage to lose the most weight within a year will be rewarded RM2000.

At the same time, new year was coming and my new year resolution was to lose weight (in fact, it was my resolution for the past few years but never accomplished😁), so i took up the challenge, took my new year resolution seriously and started getting back on track.

I returned to the gym, workout at least 5 - 6 times a week, changed my diet & drank lots of water. Within a year I managed to lose the extra pounds & won the challenge! Not only did I win the challenge but I finally accomplished my new year's resolution which was a huge victory for me. It is never easy but it sure is achieveable.

image

"The harder you work for something, The greater you'll feel when you finally achieve it"

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now