A Short Walk With A Long Story

Today's #wednesdaywalk by @tattoodjay and #makemesmile by @elizacheng challenge brings us to something that is very common in the Asian region. Pop up stalls and food trucks that sell yummy and affordable food almost anywhere.

vy1waf.jpg

I didn't even have to walk out further than 100 metres from my house to a Food Truck that sells Rojak and Cendol. This Food Truck has been selling here from the time I came to check out the show unit of the place I am staying at. Even before it was built. This is something like 13 years ago.

Over time, he had moved around as more buildings popped up, whereas once he was just right outside my building, you now have to cross the road to get to him.

dxdw0u.jpg
His business hours are between noon and 6pm everyday except Fridays as they are Muslims. Prior to the Food Truck, he used to just sell off a motorbike with a table set up by the road. I guess, business has been good.

5hts3b.jpg
This is the iceshaver. He had already shaved a block and stored the shaved ice in a cooler. Which is why there are rubberbands and what not on the shaver.

q4a6zc.jpg
First the mung beans, then the shaved ice, topped with sweet corn and Jelly noodles made of rice flour, drizzled with palm sugar.

hut68h.jpg
In some places, they are served with sticky rice, durian, jack fruit and/or more. But this is the simple variety with no frills and cost us RM2.20 each.

x739f3.jpg
We then took a leisurely walk back and of course I stopped to take some pictures of my surroundings. I love this road because of how wide it is even though it is in a housing area and the trees that line it.

j640fo.jpg
The kids, I dragged with me after parking the car at home first were perplexed. "Huh!! We are walking?". They couldn't understand why I would pass by the food truck, park at home, and then walk out again. They had no clue I had to do my #wednesdaywalk 😂 🤣 😂

3e9wac.jpg
There were lots of greens.. and reds to decorate the pavements and the entrance of the buildings we passed.

qtmbhn.jpg

n329db.jpg
It was a nice evening walk even though a little short. The sun had just gone behind the clouds and it saved us a perspire 😉

m22a92.jpg
A tree with the Chinese lanterns as Chinese New Year is just around the corner.

k2zneq.jpg
Apparently this year is going to be a good one for everybody.

sf5qi5.jpg
And just because I like these predictions, I am going to throw in another picture of these lanterns for good measure 😁 . However, success only comes if it is planned well... I guess that makes sense.

8aaqoe.jpg
Honestly, I don't know what flower this is. So after scouring the net, it looks a like the Tumeric (Curcuma longa) Flower. Please correct me if you know it isn't...

f1l5id.jpg
This flower I know! The Frangipani is very common in my country. There was a very popular restaurant named after it and even a hotel. And then there's superstition that this flower/tree attracts spirits. Apparently ghosts live in them. That would explain why the cemetaries are lined with these trees. Having said that, so is my condo... hahaha. Oh well.

That's my #wednesdaywalk & #makemesmile collabo. Do swing on over, if you'd like to be inspired for a post or two. Hope you enjoyed checking out my short walk as much as I did. And thank you @tattoodjay and @elizacheng for now I look forward to a great year ahead!!

Cheers,
Sh33la
15Jan2020

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency