The On-Tour T-Shirt

This year is definitely the 'Wedding year'... which means it may contain alcohol... a lot of alcohol.

Next week we are going to wedding number 8. Considering that's 8 weddings we have attended this year, that also means 8 presents, 8 weekends put aside for these occasions, 8 awkward best man speeches to listen to, 8 outfits and of course 8 stag/hen do's. The joys of late-twenties life.

Obviously the attendance to the stag / hen do is optional, providing you are not bothered by upsetting a life long friend, but you need to consider the major factors - Can I afford it? Do I have time off work for it?... Do I really want to go to the Googlebox Rejects Zone aka Butlins? Or even have a stripper called Gavin think he can make my year...?

Once attendance is confirmed, you will then find yourself being asked about possible 'add ons'.

Hen Do 'add ons' include butler in the buff, cocktail classes, drinks kitty, paying for the bride to wear some god-awful tat etc.

Stag Do add ons include chipping in for a stripper, paying towards an evening show or private booth at a 'nightclub' - plus money to stuff down the pants of women dancing in these 'nightclubs'.

But the similarity both the Hen and Stag Do's have in common is of course - The named t-shirt / Hoodie.

So as you can imagine, we have a selection of hen/stag themed hoodies and t-shirts now lying around the house. There's the hoddie from the Butlins hen do, where I went to Skegness (for those of you unsure - Skegness is a seaside resort in the UK where you could catch Chlamydia from simply touching a beach ball). I have the 'Bride to be' sash and accessories from my own hen do and an army themed t-shirt with 'Chrissie's Privates' across the chest. The hubby has also picked up an array of Stag Do memorabilia which includes the t-shirt titled 'Princess' and 'Team Stanton'. WARNING TO ALL GEEKS OUT THERE - He also has a Princess Leia outfit lying around somewhere - the outfit he always dreamt I would wear, however not anymore since he became every mans dream himself and was Princess Leia for his entire stag do.

But what do you do with all these items after? Sure, they're great when out and about during the hen do and you can even get away with wearing the hoodies for a week or two after. But do I really want to be running on a treadmill, getting all hot and sweaty in the gym while wearing 'Chrissie's Privates'? Am I really going to wear my bride-to-be sash and hen do veil ever again?

I am considering a few ideas, mainly because I do not want to put these memories in the bin. They are all souvenirs from friends 'last nights of freedom', someone I cared about who had fun before her big day. So perhaps I could make the t-shirts into a blanket?

And as for the hen do veil? I'll let princess where that.

Let's hope this next wedding is a free bar!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center