My study on how wearable technology affects how we see ourselves as human beings

I'm doing a study on how technology becomes embodied in people, blurring the boundary between human and technology in a world where the two are coming closer and closer together. Questions in focus on are:

When we carry technology close to, on, or even IN our bodies, always have it with us, use it in our daily routines and get feedback about ourselves from it - how does it affect us? How do we see ourselves and our bodies?

To reflect on these questions myself, I have carried this MeBand2 for a couple of months until yesterday. As it turnes out, my reflections mirrors the thoughts and feelings of my interviewees. Wearable technology can often be annoying. However, when not wearing it there is something missing. Without my MeBand2 I feel naked. Missing the data I am somewhat uncomfortable that I no longer have the same control and power over myself. Moreover, the feeling of having a modern, slightly upgraded body than before, disappeared. Now there is just flesh - no technology and no numbers. With these reflections I look forward to continue the analysis and write up the article!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now