More Comfort Food at Home - Vegan Mushroom Gravy Pie with Kale Mashed Potato

Tonight, I felt like a savory baked pie, that's healthy and satisfying, for supper. In my opinion, there is nothing more comforting than mashed potatoes. As such, I decided to make a mashed potato based pie.

I had some leftover mashed potato that does not contain any milk or butter, instead, I used olive oil and almond milk to make it creamy.

My vision was to make a pie with hearty fillings to warm up my tummy. Since I did not want any meat in my pie, I thought mushroom would be a great filling substitute. I wanted it to be very hearty and so I made the mushroom mixture thick like gravy.

Of course, we must incorporate greens into all our meals. Therefore, I added some kale in the mashed potatoes, which turned out to be perfect as it made this pie dish visually stunning!

IMG_20180306_191305.jpg

IMG_20180306_191517.jpg

Here are the ingredients and the steps:

  1. Gather all the ingredients - left over mashed potatoes, kale, mushroom, onion, organic and vegan brown gravy package
  2. Fry the mushroom and then onion
  3. Add the gravy package and water to the mushroom mixture
  4. Boil the kale in hot water for 2 minutes and add to the mashed potatoes mixture
  5. Pour the mushroom mixture into the bottom of baking dish as fillings
  6. Top with kale mashed potatoes
  7. Bake in the oven at 350 for 25 minutes

IMG_20180306_180813.jpg

IMG_20180306_183123.jpg

IMG_20180306_184316.jpg

This pie has to be my absolute favourite and it warmed up my tummy. My unborn baby also approved, lol.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency