This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

My Personal Veganuary Starter Kit πŸ˜‰πŸŒΏπŸ₯‘πŸŒπŸ₯—

Hello my friends! I hope you all are doing well. Like many of you I have been enjoying a little extra time away from the computer this past week. Some of the time has been spent with friends and family, and the rest taking care of other things to finish out the year in a productive manner. Oh, there has been some rest and relaxation, as well, but there is something fulfilling about finishing off some projects these last few days and starting the new year with a clean slate. I love going into January with a renewed zest for blogging and sharing to help contribute to the Veganuary movement!

What is this "Veganuary" deal? You can read more about the movement which started in the UK in 2014 as a way to encourage people to try veganism for the month of January. You can sign up on the official webpage and get lots of helpful information if you are new to the plant-based lifestyle, but our own @lolzwithlisa is also hosting a contest here on Steemit again to support and encourage people , as well. I enjoyed joining in to give some of my own tips and tricks last year, and plan to do the same this year. If you haven't noticed, there are so many amazing vegan recipe creators on here there is definitely no lack for inspiration on the food end of things!

Though it has been over 5 years since I ditched meat in my own diet, I still enjoy starting out the year affirming that choice as one of the best decisions I have ever made. My belly stays full, and my body and mind are as healthy as they have ever been as I continue to fuel up on the abundance of wonderful plant foods all around me. I am definitely not perfect, nor do I expect others to be. Everyone needs to come to their own conclusions and decisions on what works for them currently, but I think we can all make positive changes in even the smallest of ways. I try to do my best to lead by example with light and love, not with hate or other negative words or actions.

IMG_20181228_113746703.jpg

My role as cheerleader will be even easier this year since my family loaded me up on vegan essentials as gifts over the holidays. 😜 I think I'll definitely rock out these t-shirts my sister gave me in the gym or out on some runs. There is definitely still a lot of misinformation in the fitness world about nutrition, so I think the protein shirt will come in handy. Though I don't get the question as often as some people, it still does come up on occasion. I used to be a bit nervous about wearing anything promoting veganism--mostly because I was afraid of judgement or ridicule. Now I see it as a great way to open up dialogue, especially about plant-based nutrition and fitness.

IMG_20181226_170321091.jpg

Speaking of protein, @dksart's mom found what looks to me like a quality supplement that she put in my holiday goodie bag. It has been quite a while since I have bought any vegan protein powder myself since I tend to get plenty in my daily meals and snacks. However, it is always great to know of some solid sources for folks who feel they need a little extra to supplement their daily intake. There's some other good stuff in this one like veggies, amla, and mushrooms to boost the nutritional value so I won't mind tossing this into the occasional smoothie. I appreciate the time and care she put into reading the labels to try to make sure this was something I would actually consume!

IMG_20181226_152026532_HDR.jpg

She also knocked it out of the park with a nice big tub of nooch! This stuff is powdered gold for us vegans, haha! If cheese is your hang up about going vegan, get yourself some nutritional yeast and start finding all kinds of delicious recipes to replace the dairy. It adds a yummy cheesy flavor to all sorts of meals. I use it pretty much every week in my kitchen.

DSC_0225.jpg

I also got a few new cookbooks to add to my collection, including this one from my mom and dad. Even though I really enjoy creating recipes myself, there are still plenty of times where I am perfectly happy following someone else's guidelines for a delicious meal. When you are just starting out having plenty of books like this or blogs to follow are invaluable for figuring out a new style of cooking. It has taken me years and plenty of duds in the kitchen to get to where I am in my own current level of meal prepping expertise. I will also be taking a peek through my collection to draw inspiration for the edits to my own cookbook that @dksart has designed for me!

Of course there are plenty of other tools in my arsenal that help me keep on track, but these were just some of the fun things that I thought I would share to kick off some Veganuary inspiration! Make sure to check out @lolzwithlisa's contest if you are interested in joining and earning some Steem while you do! The @vegansofsteemit page is gearing up for some great things this coming year, as well. I am always happy to lend my support where I can and answer any questions you might have if you are curious about starting the journey into veganism, whether just about cooking more vegan meals, taking the month-long challenge or making the change for a lifetime!

Here's to starting out the new year in a healthy and conscious manner! πŸŽ‰

SB_new.png



Banners by @jaynie, @woman-onthe-wing, @dksart and @bearone for @steemusa