A new logo for MyPaint program

Hello,

I would like to present you a simple logo I made for MyPaint program. It is an open source project which can be used for digital painting. It is simple to use and works with graphics tablets. You can visit their page.

rtttet.png

Details

The logo of this project is not very original and it is a little complicated for a small size. That is why I decided to create a new one, which can be used on their page and also as an icon of their program.

I wanted the logo to be stylish and simple. First I started with sketching. I wanted to add the letters "M" and "P" into the design and also connect it with painting.

2018-01-23 (1).png

After sketching I started with drawing some of the ideas in Corel Draw. I wanted to use the brush symbol in the logo, so I prepared some designs and improved them. I tried also some more color combinations.

sg.png

dfgs.png

When the shape was right I was searching for some suitable font. I decided for Tw Cen MT, because it is a little playful and still simple and easy to read.

marty_arts.png

1.png

I made also the black and white version, which was easy to do, because of the symbol simplicity.

ydv.png

ydgvbň.png

MyPaint is a program, so there was also a possibility to adapt the logo into an icon.

poi.png

Benefits / Improvements

My new logo is more original, usable and interesting, than the previous one. It works in black and white and also in smaller sizes. It corresponds with the program name and purpose. It contains letters "M" and "P" and also a brush symbol.

dhf.png

Tools and Original files

I used Corel Draw for the designs and you can download original files in CDR, PDF and SVG here

GitHub link

Used font



Posted on Utopian.io - Rewarding Open Source Contributors

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now