Privacy Friendly Checkers; another smart game app

Repository

https://github.com/SecUSo/privacy-friendly-dame


Introduction

I'm actually a big-time gamer, and it's really interesting. When I never had a phone, I wished to get one so I could entertain myself with games. In this review, I'll be discussing the Privacy Friendly Checkers; a game app that I barely get tired of playing.

Guess what, I grew up playing checkers and we used to call it 'cha-cha'. I can still remember days when we never had phones, days when we made the checkers game out of a board, chalk/marker, and bottle covers. Now, I and my siblings have phones and there's no way we'll carry a checkers board game wherever we go.

Technology keeps putting a smile on my face. With the help of technology, the SECUSO group has made it possible for me to carry a checkers game to everywhere I go. How? well, the group created a checkers game project which I downloaded and installed on my device.


What is Privacy Friendly Checkers?

source

Looking at Wikipedia's simple definition of Checkers, it is a group of strategy board games for two players which involve diagonal moves of uniform game pieces and mandatory captures by jumping over opponent pieces.

Privacy Friendly Checkers is a version of the board game checkers and belongs to the group of Privacy Friendly App
The Privacy Friendly Checkers does not require any permissions to be used. It works perfectly OK and is free to all. You can download the app from Google Play Store or from F-Droid.


My Experience with the Game

The Privacy Friendly Checkers allows users to play the game either with a Human or the AI-controlled bot.

I've been playing some other Checkers game and I can't remember seeing an option to play with a Human being.

When a user clicks on 'New Game', the game begins. There are two colours of the figures (the movable piece); coffee and cream colour. These figures (movable piece) are on the game board which has markings. Beneath the board is a write up that either says "White player's turn" or "Black player's turn". This is made in other to help tell the players whose turn it is.

Those instructions are absolutely helpful as they prevent one player from playing twice. The other checkers game I had played doesn't tell whose turn it is. I also discovered that when I click on a figure, the movable points of the figure are shown.

The most interesting part:

I was playing the Privacy Friendly Checkers forgetting the fact that my device's battery was low. I couldn't stop playing because the game was interesting and was getting more calculative. Before I knew it, my device went off. 😔
I was supposed to feel sad that the game would not be continued (due to the unexpected interruption), but no, I didn't feel any bit sad/bad. That's because even with the fact that the game was unexpectedly closed, the game still retained its memory; giving me an option to continue my previous game.


Comparing Privacy Friendly Checkers with similar projects

A similar project is the Checkers Free app. The Checkers Free game is interesting, and I like it too. But then, there's a specific thing that makes me choose the Privacy Friendly Checkers over it. Checkers Free fills my screen with ads. If these ads aren't covering the whole of my screen, then they are at the bottom of my screen, and I dislike it.

Another similar project is the Checkers game app which also displays ads on my screen. This Checkers app is also interesting or more interesting (if I may say), but then, I still prefer the Privacy Friendly Checkers. Why?, well the truth is that this Checkers game does not retain memory (whether the game was unexpectedly closed or not). This means that there is no 'Continue Game' button.


How to play the Privacy Friendly Checkers?

Well, it's no big deal.

  • Simply download and install the latest version of the game app.
  • Launch the app
  • Click on 'New Game' and start playing.
  • Just in case there's something you don't understand, don't worry, there's a help feature which will give you an in-depth explanation of how to play the game.

Conclusion

Irrespective of the fact that there are some missing features (which I intend to suggest), I prefer the Privacy Friendly Checkers.


My GitHub Account

Chrisbarth01


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now