This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

#ULOG: Can Meditation Really Change Your Life?

IMG-20180524-WA0013.jpg

Can Meditation Really Change Your Life?

Prateek's Story.

At every point in someone’s life he or she has either been stressed or even acutely depressed. I was one of those person too, who had a harrowing time making it through my mid twenties, especially after my first breakup. Although our reasons maybe different but the problem is almost the same in the end. How does one cope up with the demanding world? Why do I feel so alone? Why haven’t I still met the one I love or Why did I have to lose the one I love? Why me , why god chose me to be the sufferer, I didn’t do any wrong? Life is so unfair to me, why?

Tendency of Isolation & Happiness:

If it gives you some solace let me tell you, it isn’t. Life is more fairer to us than many others. We as humans have a tendency to see our problems in isolation. Some don’t have enough money, some have money but don’t get love, someone else’s love is no more and his or her whole life is shattered , all these problems are problems because they are viewed in isolation. The sufferer in this case forgets the fact that he or she is not the only one and that there are many others who are not even as half fortunate as them. No matter how much one denies, this is an undeniable fact of todays world, Isolation. That’s why we tend to be struggling alone, suffering , and see no end to our suffering even though in reality we project ourselves to be happy, or rather an illusion of happiness.

How I struggled:

I have too been in this boat for a very long time. I too have been in the endless loop of happiness and sorrow again and again for years and years, and I tried many different ways to seek solace. Being a software engineer and a hardworking person, money was never a problem, but being in a job even years after my breakup I realised two very important things. Number one, money is not the most important thing if comes at the cost of your passion, and secondly a break up or losing a loved one is not the end of the world. However it was still not enough to fix the anxiety and loneliness that consistently perpetuated in me for a long long time. I did have relationships and breakups in between but missing piece still bothered me, and hence I set out on my journey to find myself.

IMG-20180524-WA0011.jpg

Discovery of Vipassana Meditation:

It was the year of 2012 , I had been actively trying different forms of mediation and meditative techniques to end my suffering, while I came across a specific meditation technique more commonly known as Vipassana. I joined a Dhamma near about 20Kms away from my house. To give you a brief on Dhamma’s , there are over over 100 Dhammas in the world, one in almost every country of the world and they don’t charge a dime for teaching the technique of Vipassana (although you can donate willingly). Their only condition is no cell phones, no laptops, no books and no talking to anyone during one’s stay at any Dhamma. Though this may be more difficult for some , but it was not so for me, and if one is willing enough they can too.

My experience with Vipassana:

When I started Vipassana, I have to admit it wasn’t easy at all. Even though I had tried concentration meditation before, vipassana was completely different. The 11 days stay at Dhamma not talking to anyone and sitting straight for hours, waking up early was a daunting task, especially for a person like me who suffered from spondylitis. For those of us who do not know, spondylitis is a form of arthritis that commonly occurs in the spine, although it can affect other joints as well. Mine was located at the neck joint on the right shoulder. The agony of back pain and focusing on the breath at the same time was an impossible task. Add onto that the fever and cough from detox on third day of the course was like going through hell. Thats when I realised it was as they said, karma bites you back and this was my karma biting me back.

IMG-20180524-WA0009.jpg

On the 11th day of the program, our vipassana came to a conclusion and somehow I was among the people who made it though. To my utter surprise my spondylitis was 80% gone, I didn’t feel like talking , and I was constantly at peace. This was no less than a miracle for a person like me who didn’t believe in spirituality at all. My back and my mind both felt simply amazing.

Verdict:

Vipassana can be an extremely difficult meditation to perform than other forms of meditation, but does it really work? In short, Yes it does. You don’t have to take my word for it, you can experience it for yourself. Although its difficult to start, but the results are surprising and wonderful, even beyond expectations in some cases. Eventually I did stop seeing problems in isolation, and the bigger picture presented itself to me with time and practice. Vipassana may be not be a solution to everything , but I believe it is a solution to a lot of problems.

About Me: I am software engineer grad from New Delhi, India, who has worked for fortune 500 MNCs before finding my love for writing, music, guitar and vocals. I quit my job after I realised that there is more to life than just doing a job. I picked up an electric guitar and started learning Indian classical vocals from my respected teacher and Guru Mr. Dinesh Kumar. Currently I am working on a book named 500 wishes.

Disclaimer: All images are free to use for commercial purposes.