ULOG 10: Sometimes our Mothers are Right!

STOP THAT RIGHT THIS MINUTE !!
DON'T DO THAT!
YOU ABSOLUTELY MUST NOT DO THAT!!

I heard those phrases all my life. They go with these phrases ...

YOU'RE GOING TO RUB YOUR EYES RIGHT OUT OF YOUR HEAD!
THAT WILL DAMAGE YOUR EYES!

The moral to the following story is this: There are some instructions that our parents give us which are good for all of the days we live!

Sigh. Well Friday I just about succeeded in actually rubbing the conjunctiva right off. Ok. Not Off. But I did rub it and cause it to fill with liquid. Nice pocket of liquid floating all around in my cornea/iris. Where the pocked of liquid was kind of depended on where I was looking. (Conjunctiva is the thin little outer coating on the eye.)

The first photo in this article is close to how my eye looked. You don't want to scroll down the page on that web site unless you just love icky eye photos.

It's caused by rubbing itchy eyes too much. Might add that my eyes had also been awake for just at 24 hours.

Anyway, my eye doctor was, of course, out of the office but I found that the first aid was quite simple! Cold compresses! I also I figured sleep would help. Sure enough by bed time I was doing much better.

My husband also stopped and picked up some eye drops on his way home. One is super moisturizing and the other has an anti-histamine in it. That really helps with the itch! I'm afraid to use either one too much though because the ironical flip side is that I am allergic to some of the preservatives and they will turn my eyes fire engine red after about day 4!

But! Let me tell you. This was much less painful and much easier to deal with than a corneal abrasion. They think I did that in my sleep by rubbing my eyes, some years ago.

AND I have this other thing with my eyes (that I hinted at in another post) called chronic dry eyes and the conjunctiva gets sticky and has some pretty permanent wrinkles. Of course, a few have to go right across my cornea. This causes my vision to fracture, sort of like looking through a beveled window. Not really. But a little like it. So. I see double fairly often. Most of the time I don't even notice it any more. But some days can be worse than others. I keep intending to make an image that can demonstrate the idea.

In the mean time. Here's a little slice of my Texas Life back in 2005. A little blossom on some unwanted plant that is usually eradicated with a weed killer.

HPIM2963cropsm.png

Random note: Somewhere in my house is a grasshopper desperate to find a mate. I'm officially desperate for it to leave my home!


If you are a random visitor, if you don't leave a comment, I won't know you're real. It doesn't matter if you can't upvote. Don't fall for that BS. Please, Leave a comment. I don't follow anyone who doesn't leave a comment.

If you are a member of @SteemitMamas, @SteemUSA OR if you are participating in @Ulogs OR DYICAD2018 ...

  1. Feel free to leave a comment telling me how inspirational my writing is (or isn't) ;-)

  2. AND THEN you can also tell me what you've written about lately. LEAVE a LINK. Live large, break the "rules" (here).

  3. And who knows, then I might like what you write and follow you around, too.

  • Plus!!! Do you know that I reward good comments?

But Wait! There's more! Check out these great groups!

@ulogs: Member Posts, Discord

20180516_002249_0001.png

@SteemitMamas: Member Posts, Discord

footer SteemUSA & Isle of Write

@SteemUSA: Member Posts, Discord, logo by @BearOne Arly

@IsleofWrite: Member Posts, Discord, logo by @PegasusPhysics


8th Annual ICAD Challenge

If you don't leave a comment I won't know you're real

Above all, seriously, cut through the bot line and let me know you're real ! !

This post was made from https://ulogs.org

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now