This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

@ULOGS 008: GRATITUDEDAY 6 MY FIRST EXPERIENCE IN LAGOS

Lagos is beautiful city that never sleeps with millions and thousands of people walking on the streets doing their own thing and everyone is a hustler.

GOS00775NIG.jpg
Source: https://goo.gl/images/mBphov

I was working as a production manager in Port-Harourt in a Meat shop where we produce processed meat like sausage, bacon, bugger and the rest till I got my present Job in Lagos.

I had never been to Lagos neither did I want to live in Lagos but my husband then my fiancée persuaded me that he would accompany me to Lagos so I don't turn down the offer.

The day we set out to come for the interview we budded a bus to Lagos and the journey was rough. We rented a room in one guest house that made me feel so terrible. I could not sleep that night because the area was so noisy. My head was aching seriously by the time it was morning. I was going to write an exam as part of the interview.

The worst thing was that we didn't know our way to the venue but some how got there just in time for the written exam. Unfortunately the exam was cancelled and we were all asked to go back to be called at another date.

This time around we made an arrangement to stay in my husband's friends house and everything went well. I wrote as though i was going to take first position 😂. Finished in due time and were had to stay back for the oral interview the same day. We went back to Port-Harcout awaiting their calls to resume work.

20180218_110534.jpg

I was in the factory when I got an SMS inviting me to come for my acceptance letter within 24 hours, I was like what? I had to book a flight that day which I missed and made it the next morning because I didn't want my MD to know about my new job. I went, accepted the job when I saw the offer which was about 5 time what I was earning at the time.

I came back droped my resignation letter which was not accepted till today but I have to move on. We had agreed with the same guy who accomodated me before that I would stay in his place for a while because he was with his sister in a 3 bedroom flat. Only to call him that morning he said I should be coming and as I got closer to Lagos his phones were switched off. It was getting dark and I would soon be at my bus stop. I called everyone I knew, my parents and siblings to help me out with whoever they knew to assist me. All to no avail as it was dark and places I could go to were as far as Iyana-Ipaja, Egbeda and so on. I was like I never wanted to come to Lagos in the first place, the people are so mean. Yet the guys number was still not connecting.

It was a lady that sat by my side in the bus that finally accomodated me for the night that turned into 2 weeks before I could locate my family here in Lagos around Yaba and my office around Herbert Macaulay Way. Her name is Yinka, some one I never knew.
34060488lagostraffic.jpg
Source: https://goo.gl/images/V4FBEQ
Busy Lagos city

I am grateful to God for using her to assist me in that regard and the funny thing was that she was to travel out, the house was her sisters transfered to another state. It taught me a lesson and since I came to Lagos, my house has been a place for many to stay a while before they could find their feet in this busy and ever bubbling Lagos.

It was my Welcome to Lagos experience.

Thank you for your time.

I am @gloeze and I live in Lagos.

U5dtVm6PhEAAYQWwzcmJbm98SPpXhQB.gifU5dsqLDspLToDM5iE6ukvLeGVzdw1DR.gif