ULOG - Weekly Thoughts - 24 Jul 21 - 30 Jul 21 - Homesteading This Week...

Good morning, Hive-ians! 😊
image.png
Our sky colours were quite pretty this week, I love these ones from Saturday’s sunrise, especially with the contrast of the dark green trees against them. 😊
image.png
Some of our pigeons coming for breakfast on Sunday. 😊
image.png
The second shift has arrived and is in a holding pattern on the wire, waiting for the first group to leave so they can get their breakfast. 😊
image.png
One of our Red-breasted Grosbeaks grabbing a snack off our rock wall. 😊
image.png
This lovely little House Finch took a moment to pose for me after I asked her if I could take her picture. 😊
image.png
One of our lovely House Finch’s joined our handsome, Red-breasted Grosbeak. 😊
image.png
The male squirrel we call “Half-Penny” stopped by a few times this week, he ignored us and watched the Blackbirds the whole time he was here. 😊
image.png
We went to a neighbours’ yard sale and made a fabulous find when we saw this Simac PastaMatic 700. 😊 I love this machine; we’ve used it three times this week already and it works wonderfully. 😊 If anyone happens to know where I’d be able to find other dies for it by chance, please leave a comment below, I’d be very grateful to you. &128522; I’m searching for the one for breadsticks and the one for fusilli/rotini in particular. 😊
image.png
Some of our Blackbirds and Red-winged Blackbirds hanging out together in the main pasture during one of our rain showers this week. 😊
image.png
Even with the many rain showers this week, the dogs and I managed to make several passes through our pastures while my handsome husband was working and with him in the evenings after supper, they love going out and checking every nook and cranny in the pastures while we trail behind them wondering where they’ll pop out next; loads of fun for the whole family. 😊
image.png
This little bug kept me company outside for bit this week, I’m not sure if it was the same one each time or just the same type, but it was a neat looking critter. 😊
image.png
The sunsets here are always beautiful, even when there’s lots of clouds trying to block it out. 😊
image.png
The view we’ve had of Mount Katahdin over in Maine, USA has been crystal clear most evenings this week and this is one of the shots I took with my phone. 😊
image.png
This is my personal favourite sunset shot from the week, it features my tree in the main pasture and so many beautiful colours, the pinks and purples contrast so nicely with the darker greens of the trees, in my opinion. 😊
image.png
One of our chipmunks napping in the sun on our rock wall. 😊
image.png
The setting sun through the trees in our main pasture. 😊
image.png
The Blue Jays have started coming around for their peanuts again, they’ve been gone for awhile not, so it was nice to see them again. 😊
image.png
We’ve had some amazing meals this week; all the meat and a lot of the sides have come from our homestead and garden beds, like this very tasty, barbecued T-bone steak (what’s left of it) red potatoes, peas, carrots, corn, peppers and onions, with some fresh garlic, tarragon, and thyme, sea salt and a bit of pepper and oregano; yum. 😊
image.png
Well, that was our week here. How is/was yours? I hope you have had an awesome week! 😊
image.pngimage.png
Anyone else interested in a badge like this? Contact @daddykirbs for a custom badge of your own. 😊 Thank you to @zainenn for the GHSC footer as well. 😊

(All photos taken by me or for me by my handsome husband on my Huawei P30 Lite or Samsung S20FE5G.)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency