ULOG: MY FIRST TRIP TO THE LAND OF ỌGỤN!

Hello Steemians, it's really been a while I made a post and you might all be wondering what I have been up to...

Well, I just got the clarion call to serve my father land..

National Youth service corps(NYSC), is a compulsory one (1) year program that is preceeded by three(3)weeks camping, in which all graduates of NIGERIA and outside Nigeria must undergo before they can be dimmed fit to work in any governmental or private organization in Nigeria.

Preparations for this course hasn't been all rosy as I had to prepare to go to a land I had never been to. I had to buy white t-shirts and shorts, white socks and canvas, waist pouch and toiletries, etc, because these clothes are the only acceptable dress code in camp.

I got posted to Ọgụn state for my service year and the orientation camp for batch B, stream 1, was generally fixed for 24th July, 2018, but since I was coming from a far place (abuja), so I had to reach camp a day earlier to avoid stories that touch the kidney.

IMG_20180723_110438.jpg

I was told the journey from Abuja to ọgụn state is a thirteen (13) hour drive but to my surprise, it was only 10 hours, I guess the driver was accelerator friendly anyways.

IMG_20180723_132901.jpg

We left Abuja by 9am and arrived safely at ọgụn state by 7pm. We didn't experience any sort of hiccups on the way and I give glory to God for that. I consider the journey to be very adventurous because I crossed states I had never been to and I saw the famous FEDERAL UNIVERSITY OF TECHNOLOGY, AKURE( FUTA) located at onto state.

IMG_20180723_153506.jpg

My orientation camp is located at ikenne Road, sagamu, ọgụn state, but I was dropped off at sagamu under bridge junction, so I had to take a bike from there to my camp and I was charged #500 because of the distance and it was fun riding that long distance for the first time in my life with a bike.

IMG_20180723_190259.jpg

I got to my camp at exactly 7:45pm and I was checked in...my traveling bag was thoroughly searched and my nail cutter was seized because any form of sharp objects are not allowed in camp.

After searching me, I was given a code number and a bed space.

IMG_20180723_194145.jpg

I really don't know how the remaining days of camping will look like but am positive that it's going to be real fun. I have already started making friends in camp and today being 24th July, 2018 is for registration.

I woke up around 4am,took my bath and waiting already at the registration hall. The crowd here is pretty much, wish I could snap them but like they always say, "Nigerians are angry people" and you don't know who will pick offense from doing that. So let's wrap it up here..

see you soon?

MORE updates coming!

DESMONIAC.gif

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now