My Trial by Comics Entry - Kaiju

final.jpg

This is my entry for Trial by Comics contest this week. The theme for this week is kaiju.

According to Wikipedia...

Kaijū (怪獣 kaijū) (from Japanese "strange beast") is a Japanese film genre that features giant monsters, usually attacking major cities and engaging the military and other monsters in battle.

I am not a fan of anime or anything like that and prior to entering this contest, I have never heard of the word kaiju. I thought it's just an anime character. So why am I entering this contest? For fun. It's good to take a break from the usual art I am doing. I was thinking drawing monsters couldn't be that hard.

I was wrong.

It was hard for me because I am not used to drawing monsters. So I googled for some inspirations.

According to the organizer @kommienezuspadt , participants can draw existing monsters/kaiju but I would like to try to create my own monster. However, I still need a reference image. So I went to Pixabay and found this image:

dragon-1770252_1920.jpg

Source: pixabay.com

It's a dragon but it would do.

I used that image as my reference and I changed the details.

Medium: watercolor and colored pencils.

Here are my process photos.

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

6.jpg

7.jpg

8.jpg

9.jpg

...and the final drawing is as shown on top of this post.

Thank you for visiting! What do you think of this kaiju?

My previous post:

Portrait Of A Steemian - @zord189

James Dean - Portrait Of A Rebel


I am selling some of my paintings over on Artfinder. Shipping is FREE worldwide. You can check them out here: ARTFINDER. Thank you!


collage-2017-10-28.png

This is my new avatar! I am super excited about it. I will write about it on my next post!

Upvote, Resteem & Follow Me @coloringiship

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
14 Comments
Ecency