I bet you didn't know this Fact about the Walnut Tree.

I didn't... till the recent days. And it's not something that I found in Wiki or so.

As you may know, now the walnut is in bloom, which means a lot of these beautiful catkins hanging from its brunches.

image

I remember my grandmother always said that the more catkins we see on the tree in spring, the greater harvest of nuts will be in the fall.

image

These her words led me to the wrong believe that catkins are what later becomes nuts.

Damn, I lived with this delution for 30 years until I saw... tiny walnuts growing on the branch next to the catkins.

image

Boom! That moment when you feel like a fool.

I planted this and other our walnut trees when I was a kid... And I'm not a typical urban resident who is far from nature...
How could I not have noticed that before, having spent most of my years in the village?

image

Well, at least now things have fallen into place:-)))

image

It was my entry for #TreeTuesday hosted by @old-guy-photos.

Keep your eyes opened and you'll see more!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency