Travel Photo contest week 5 - Landmarks

Not so long back I entered a panoramic photo of Paris into @axeman's cityscape photography contest. Just visible on the left of the photo on the opposite bank of the Seine is my favourite Parisian landmark - the Musée du Louvre. It's overcrowded, possibly even overrated and definitely overpriced but I still make a point of visiting whenever I hop over the channel.

On a cheeky little half term Eurostar jaunt last October I booked the family into a hotel about 10 minutes from the museum with the intent of shooting the famous pyramid at night.

DSC_3544.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_3550.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_3560.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_3565.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

Mission accomplished :-)

It does need to be said however that even by day the pyramid is no less impressive:

DSC_3333.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_3322.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_3341.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_3344.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

The museum itself inside is a treasure trove of different architectural styles and priceless artefacts. Although I usually prefer the less crowded galleries, you can't visit the Louvre without dropping in on its most famous inhabitant.

DSC_3413.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_3389.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

DSC_3401.jpg
click on the image to view full screen

There she is - this is as close as I could get. Next time I'll bring a 300mm lens maybe...

DSC_3402.jpg
click on the image to view full screen


Equipment Used

  • Nikon D7000
  • Sigma 17-50 f/2.8
  • Tripod & remote release
  • Adobe Lightroom

See more of my photography on my blog

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency