Photo story: Victoria Falls (32 photos!)

Dear Hivean friends I hope you are doing well and that you are in good shape.

It is time for another photo story from my side.
This time we will go to Africa. To Zimbabwe and to Zambia for a moment as well, you will see 😊

Do you know which is the most popular touristic attraction in Zimbabwe?
Victoria Falls are located there, that means the biggest falls on Earth are there as Victoria Falls are amazing 1708 meters width. Height of the falls is 108 meters, which is also amazing number. Combined we get the result of the biggest waterfalls on the World.
They are located on border Zimbabwe – Zambia, and towns there are Victoria Falls (Zimbabwe) and Livingstone (Zambia).

On my travel, that was our end point as we flew back to Europe form Victoria Falls. Before we visited Namibia and Botswana, but more from that hopefully on another photo story soon.

f 226.jpeg
I love this rainbow view

We came to the lodge and were amazed! On whole travel we had great accommodations, but when we arrived to Victoria Safari Lodge, we literally couldn’t believe our eyes.
We came to the reception to do the check in and they said you don’t have the reservation here, but just couple of meters away in Victoria Falls Safari Club. We said, OK now we understand, it was to good to be true. After arriving to reception of this Safari Club, we were shocked, positively. It was even better. An upgrade from the best hotel I ever saw!? Ohhh an amazing end of the holidays. Privat check in, without waiting in lines, we sat down they brought the lemonade (the best lemonade in my life), small towels to refresh ourselves, etc.
After arriving to our rooms we had connected units, one was suite and one regular (not the right word) room. We both had a balcony with view on the waterhole, so we could watch elephants coming to drink at evenings. I forget to mentioned, that front desk staff warned us to take extra care on our belonging in the rooms as they have burglars on the premises. That burglars have 4 legs and are primates. Hotel is known that monkey comes in the rooms and can steal something, but we didn’t have that luck. If you don’t know monkey is my favourite animal, so that is why I was disappointed 😊
Another thing to highlight at this hotel is free minibar in the room. It contained two large bottles of wine and all other stuff. Impressive when watching sunset from your balcony.
If we didn’t have luck with monkey, we were friend with warthogs who were in front of the hotel as well. Very cute animals, and also very good in the plate if I can add.
I could go on and on with hotel and its pool for example, but you can google it and you will se more details. Just don’t look at the rate (appx. 5000 HIVE per night, so please upvote! 😊). I still don’t know how our agent reserved this accommodation as our whole arrangement was just for few nights at this hotel.

g 904.JPG

g 908.JPG

g 909.JPG

g 910.JPG

f 276.jpeg

g 915.JPG
We were at this marketplace and shopping can be interesting experience. Amazing things, all hand made. My story: They offered and item for 1700 USD I both it for 80 USD at the end.

We ended our stay with amazing dinner, so few words will follow at the end, but now lets go do something fun 😊
What to choose from so many activities offered at that place?
I choose white water rafting on Zambezi river. And I would choose the same again and again and again. It was that good. Probably helicopter ride above the falls is spectacular as well as Devils pool bath, but rafting won for me.
I don’t know how much do you know this Zambezi rafting, but is known to be the best on the world. There is so many rapids grade 4 or 5 that rapid grade 3 which is usually already great dose of adrenaline, here boring 😊
There is also rapid grade 6, which means that it is not doable. What that means in practice. Go off the boat, walk around the rapid and back to the boats. Yes, it is that bad.
I have to say, that safety on that rafting was amazing! I never felt that something could go wrong, and that I am not safe. Maybe also because we had a great guide who was yelling at us for the whole ride. But we knew that we should listen to him or we will not make it. Still boat is for 9 of us, so we all have to work together. Next day, I would change my arms if I could. Pain was very much present as we really had to work hard.
So, if you will be at Victoria Falls, try this rafting.

I would like to add that next photos (10 photos) were not taken by me! I was rafting so that would be hard even for Chuck Norris.

g 917.jpg
Famous bridge view from the raft

g 920.jpg
I am at the green swimwear

g 924.jpg

g 926.jpg
That didn't end well for my position

g 928.jpg

g 931.jpg
This is the moment I entered to Zambia as I was in the water - illegally

g 941.jpg
Like a car crash

g 945.jpg

g 950.jpg
Where are we?

g 952.jpg
Some waves

Here nothing much is to say. Victoria Falls from Zambian side are beautiful. Beautiful park, a nice walkway. Relaxing, full of nature, not crowded at the time of our visit.
Water season was not the best at our visit, but it was good for rafting and other activities before on our trip, so we can not have everything perfect, right?

g 963.JPG

g 971.JPG

f 222.jpeg

f 227.jpeg

f 235.jpeg

f 243.jpeg

g 996.JPG

g 997.JPG
Devils pool in Zambia, crazy!

To conclude this two days Victoria Falls review in style, we have to go back to our hotel/lodge. On the last night of our trip we had Boma dinner. Boma dinner is traditional dinner with dancing and a lot of good local food. That is short way of describing it. It is a show and amazing culinary experience.
PS: You could choose warms from the buffet as well.

g 1004.JPG

p 373.jpeg

g 1016.JPG

g 1018.JPG

g 1020.JPG

g 1014.JPG

g 1012.JPG

Stay safe and enjoy!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency