Travel PH: The Small but Terrible Taal Volcano

imageSmall volcano within a lake within a volcano within a lake within a volcano...say whaaaat?!


Taal Volcano is the smallest active volcano in the world and this is located in Luzon, Philippines. It is small but terrible with a history of several deadly eruptions. On top of that, it is a complex volcano being a "volcano within a lake within a volcano within a lake within a volcano". That sounds confusing and I found a free image to show how that works.


imagesource: NASA



It is accessible from Manila and you don't have to pay expensive travel agencies to take you there. I found one that charges Php 10,000 if you're traveling alone! That's too much even if they take you there via a comfortable car. We were 3 in the group and the day trip only costs us approximately Php 1,000+ each.

*1 USD = approx. 51 PHP


How to DIY (Do-It-Yourself) and Save Money

  • From Pasay terminal (Metro Manila), take the bus bound to Tagaytay. You can ask the driver to stop at the terminal to the volcano. (PHP 120+)

  • From the terminal, you can take a traysikel / tricycle (this is the Philippines version of tuk-tuk) going down to the resorts. It is quite a long and steep ride and the tricycle costs Php 300 (Php 100 each)

  • There are several resorts lined up that offer a boat going there. If you can find other people to share the cost of the boat, that's better. The boat plus fees and trek guide were worth a total of Php 2,300 (Php 766 each).


The Trek to the Crater and My Quick Snaps

I was busy playing tour guide to my foreign friends and I wasn't able to take nice photos. I only took quick snaps when I got the chance just so I have some memories to take home with me. I have edited my smartphone photos through Snapseed mobile app. I will also show the before and after photos. I also added a frame on the edited ones because I realized how poor my framing was.


It was a short boat ride from the resort. You can already see the volcanic island from the port.

imageBefore Editing

image After Editing


The view from the banca (traditional wooden boat).

imageBefore Editing

image After Editing


This place is an easy day trip from Manila. We arrived and there were already other tour groups who have started their trek.

image Before Editing

image After Editing


The trek was easy breezy as there was not much ascent. Most of the trail was flat. Some visitors also took a horse ride going there but we decided to just get there on foot as it was only an hour trek.

imageBefore Editing

imageAfter Editing


The trek gets more difficult as you approach the crater

imageBefore Editing

image After Editing


The main crater lake

imageBefore Editing

imageAfter Editing


The trail to the Red Lava Point

imageBefore Editing

imageAfter Editing


The Red Lava Peak. It is called as such due to its color which was enhanced through editing.

imageBefore Editing - I don't know whose leg is that lol

image After Editing - Thanks to Cropping


We stayed there for an hour or so and returned to Tagaytay. You get to see a nice overlooking view from this area as well.

image Before Editing

image After Editing


Lastly, we rewarded ourselves with food! We had Bulalo which is a specialty dish in Tagaytay. The weather in here is cooler and the hot beef bone marrow soup was perfect!

image Before Editing

imageAfter Editing


Reference:

http://factsanddetails.com/southeast-asia/Philippines/sub5_6h/entry-3923.html

Photos hurriedly taken using Sony Xperia Z1 and enhanced through Snapseed


##### About TriPinas

I thought of making a TriPinas series which would have a collection of my trips within the Philippines. Pinas is our nickname for Pilipinas. Thus, TriPinas = trip + Pinas

UPDATE: I don't want to associate my blog to that word which I have deleted because some mean people don't understand coincidence in wordplay and this is just a freaking blog, not a product or service!

The post was previously uneditable after 7 days (previous blockchain limitation) but this is now possible. So I have now fcking edited this to remove that stpid word from the title. This word is all yours, agency-that-must-not-be-named! This agency is so arrogant and threatened to sue me without understanding how blockchain works. I just wish you had some heart to give me closure on this, instead you left me with a threat. You have no idea how much stress and fear you gave me amidst cancer. I could have been a possible customer since I travel a lot. Please do not bully people because you have a company and money to hire lawyers!

Join the Steemit Travellers on Discord

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
63 Comments
Ecency