New Zealand Adventure - A new road trip and The Blue Pools

This next trip was kind of an odd one. The plan was to get to Christchurch, but since this is New Zealand and there are so many things to see, simply driving up in one day wasn't the best option. Besides, they charge you the same for one day rental as they do with two sometimes.

Instead, I used a "relocation" camper van. If you don't know what that is, I'll quickly explain:

A "relocation" vehicle is simply one that the company needs in another location. You are doing them a favor by relocating this vehicle for them. It works out good for you too since the price is much MUCH cheaper than simply trying to hire one. Sometimes they give you a petrol allowance as well and pay for your petrol up to a certain mileage.

Now unlike hiring, you don't get much of a choice of what you get since it's the vehicle they need moving. You can set a preference for car or camper for example but it really is like picking a name out the hat.

This is what came up

image.png

It's meant to be for up to 4 people lol

Here it is inside

image.png

Great for sleeping in and keeping the bugs out but not exactly the easiest to find a space, let alone park!

So anyway, off we go!

image.png

The first stop (from what I remember) was simply a place to rest for the night. We got the van in the afternoon and by the time everything was packed and ready to go from the place we'd been staying it was getting on for evening by the time we got to this first stop.

Another lake not far from Wanaka, a place I'd visited not long before. I decided to take a walk and low and behold there was a path to the top overlooking the lake.

image.png

The view on the other side wasn't bad either.

image.png

By the time I got down the sun was setting

image.png

Now I'm not sure I've mentioned it before but New Zealand is super strict on camping and there's heavy fines if you get caught. That car park for example, no camping $200 fine.

It never used to be this way but you see people these days are careless and selfish and leave their shit (literally) everywhere. I'm talking bottles, bits of plasitc, used nappies, used toilet paper. Selfish people that ruin it for everyone else. Now as a result, it's REALLY hard to find somewhere to camp for free.

So after driving down roads that ended up as farms or private property and ruining the suspension I finally just gave up and camped right next to the main road lol.

Next morning we headed for the Blue Pools, but on the way stopped in somewhere quite familiar.

image.png

image.png

Wanaka!

After that, we headed out on the road with some pretty nice views on the way

image.png

image.png

image.png

As you can see, there's not exactly alot of traffic.

The Blue Pools

Finally we reached the main destination, the Blue Pools. This is something that was recommended by my house mates back in Queenstown. They've lived there a while now so know whats what.

I parked up on a layby off the main road, right next to a steep drop off!

It may not look it because of all the vegetation but trust me, this was steep and a big drop. Pretty scary when you're trying to parallel park a 7 meter van that you've only had a days experience driving!

After a short walk through the forest, we arrived at the blue pools

image.png

Ths photo and all photos are not edited in any way. The water really is that colour

image.png

This view was taken from a footbridge which I hated walking across. Every step the whole thing would bounce. Add on the fact you've got a few families there letting their kids jump on it, it's pretty scary. I wanted to just grab one and throw them off!

This one...
image.png

I took this because of the stone sculptures, that people have built in that past. Pretty cool, reminds me of the one's back in Australia.

So this bridge...I noticed people were jumping off it into the river and had been told about this prior to visiting. I wanted to have a go.

There was two things I was worried about:

  1. The depth of the water. It was so clear you could easily see the bottom giving the illusion that it was shallow. You can clearly see all the rocks sitting on the bottom just waiting to break your legs.

I knew if I messed this up, it would be the end of my trip.

  1. Cold water shock: The water here runs down from the glaciers and as a result is on 5 degrees Celcius! That's bloody cold! The ocean around the UK is about 12-15 so yeh cold!

I knew from survival and lifegaurd training that when your body suddenly hits cold water, you take a gasp of air. But what if water goes in your lungs instead of that air?

Exactly...

Now you've got drowning.

But there was one thing there which I had never properly expereinced that made me jump more than anything which I hope I will never experience again...

Sandflies!

image.png

Image Source

Within minutes of being there I was getting bitten, I looked down at my legs and saw about 5 or 6 that had allready started feasting. I swatted them all.

But these things, don't let up. Swarms of the little basterds were comming out from the forrest and they were hungry! I could literally see their flight path as they zig zagged towards me, like a shark zig zagging towards blood. It was actually kind of scary! Pathetic I know but when you see these come straight for you it's not a nice sight. I'm talking over 100 easily.

I knew the cold water would numb my body and stop the itching so I headed back up to the bridge. Stripped off; and jumped..

https://www.instagram.com/p/BeB2W3RgG2k/?igshid=ly7l23pqmocm

When I hit the water it was such a relief. But then the adrelinine was no match for the sheer tempreture drop I just exposed my body to. I felt a tingling feeling as I floated back to the surface.

Then came the numbness. We've all experienced numb fingers and toes from a cold day but normally it takes minutes. This was literally about 3 seconds. First, my fingers went. This was to be expected, not big deal but then straight after I couldn't anything. It was like "lego hands". Then my hands and feet went numb, time to get out!

I'm a swimming instructor and I know full well that swimming is all about feeling the thickness of the water with your fingers. If you can't feel anything, your mind plays tricks on you and you will start to panic. Not good in 5'C water!

When I got out, I was still numb. Great for the sandfly bites and walking over the stones which earlier I struggled with.


With that over, it was time to continue on with a very itchy but interesting journy.

image.png

image.png

Where will the road take me?

That's all for now, thanks for visiting!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now