The gorge is gorgeous!

image.png

This wandering Jew, who has lived on the road for the last three and a half months, traveling from Nebraska to North Carolina, through West Virginia, up to Wisconsin and Minnesota, across North Dakota, Montana, and Idaho, while tent camping, rafting, white water kayaking, and occasionally sleeping in my car at rest stops along the way, recently returned to my old stomping grounds in Washington state. In the last week I appear to have settled down, at least until next summer – if all goes as planned.

I’ve rented the bottom floor of a three-story house on the heights above the town of Hood River, Oregon, overlooking the oh-so-blue Columbia River, in a spot that also offers a clear view of the forested mountains of Washington State on the river’s north side.

The Columbia Gorge is gorgeous! I only discovered it a couple years ago, and I’ve fallen in love with it since. If you like mountains, rivers, waterfalls, lush valleys, orchards, imposing rock formations, winged or four-footed wildlife, if you enjoy drinking freshly brewed coffee or beer, freshly fermented cider or wine, this might be a good place for you – to live in or at least to come visit. If you enjoy hiking, camping, road biking, mountain biking, rafting, kayaking, paddle boarding, windsurfing, kiteboarding, sailing or other water sports, this is the place! So far, the air is clear and clean and crisp.

After I get my Pfizer booster shot, I may be ready to board a plane for some more international travel. The Portland airport is a straight shot sixty miles west of Hood River. Until then, there’s a beautiful world to explore right at my doorstep.

I think I’m gonna like it here. . .

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency