This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Atlanta Trip: Beluga Whales!

So a few years ago I found out that Atlanta, Georgia has a massive aquarium that has Whale Sharks! How neat right?! Well when I was in my relationship at the time; I wanted us to make so many trips together. Well after he cheated and I left him in 2014; those dreams didn’t stop. I went to New York in 2014 to visit some friends I met online when I was younger. Fast forward 3 years and I found out about a stunt show happening in Atlanta! So of course I had to go!

I started planning my trip and went to the Georgia Aquarium website. I saw on there they have Beluga whales!? Whattt!! So then I had to do that if I was there! Once in a lifetime opportunity; so glad I did it! I haven’t traveled solo since my Vegas trip last year so I was bit nervous but ready to make my plans!

After I got a great deal off Travelocity for hotel and flight (500 for 3days/2nights) I was ready to go! I didn’t get a rental car beforehand but luckily was able to get that resolved the day I arrived. I did have to go back to the airport to get a car but it was worth it to visit the city. The stunt show was about an hour outside of Atlanta. Uber ride there and back was as much as a rental so boom! I was able to enjoy some of the Atlanta heat that evening and sunbathe at my hotel.

That Saturday Morning was my booking to swim with the Belugas! I went early to get pictures and visit the aquarium. Then it was time to get the tour and walk through! We got into our wetsuits after learning about the whales we would meet. I find wetsuits flattering – Haha!

Finally time to interact and meet our new friends! Stepping into the cold water was a bit shocking but not bad since the suit helps keep the body warm. We got to experience so many things that these whales can do. They can even swim backwards! Their mouths are shapes differently because they can use suction to get their food! They can make high pitch and low pitch sounds!

Fun Facts:
- They are known as the Canaries of the sea check the sound cloud at the bottom to listen!
- They born grey and turn fully white by age 8
- They do not have a dorsal fin like other whales
- They are able to move their necks unlike other whales!
- Slow swimmers – can burst to 15mph for 15 min
- Their bulbous forehead, called a "melon”, is flexible and capable of changing shape. This allows them to make different facial expressions.

Climate Change & Conservation:
- Like polar bears, the beluga depends on sea ice for its existence
and can be directly impacted by climate change.
- Conservation Status: Near Threatened
- Breeding Belugas is very difficult since death rates for babies is high in captivity

(Unsupported https://w.soundcloud.com/player/?url=https%3A//api.soundcloud.com/tracks/186830514&color=1b9c26)

I never thought I would get to see a Beluga whale! Let alone touch and hug one! I really try to live life like a bucket list and enjoy everything while I am here. I loved what I learned about these amazing cetaceans. It did make me sad they are in a small tank but the amount of education and determination to spread this knowledge about these animals is beneficial. There is no-way I would have known now what I do about their need for ice caps to hide from predators. I certainly could have looked it up online but this experience made a significant impact. I make sure to recycle, purchase responsible sourced fish me, and more so educate others about Belugas!

I highly recommend the Georgia Aquarium for the fact they have a super cool tank with the whale sharks! Yes, I got to see my whale sharks and I was so STOKED! Coolest creature I have seen so far! I loved when they swam against the glass. It was truly eye opening on how massive they really are!

I totally geeked out over these whale sharks! Haha

Now I hope to find my SD Card and get the stunt photos for the next post about the stunt show in Atlanta! Wish me luck – this is why I can’t have nice things I cannot keep things in one place >.< ugh!

BIG HUGS <3 moony