This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Sailing and hiking in Norway– my kind of summer

This summer I went sailing at Sunnmøre along the westcoast of Norway.

My parents are eager sailors, and ever since I was a kid it has been a tradition to spend the summers riding the waves and chasing the wind along the beautiful coast of Norway.


All blue as far as the eye can see.


Looking out the window from my cabin.

Favourite destination
I have been sailing in Lofoten, the Bergen area, the fjords of Hardanger and Ryfylke to mention some places, and they are all stunning. But I have to say that Sunnmøre is a favourite destination of mine. The peaky mountains, known as the alps of Sunnmøre, still have snow lying on the tops in July, and it is such a powerful feeling silently gliding through the nature in a little boat surrounded by all that ocean, those massive mountains and the flowers and rich nature near the coastline – the contrasts are magnificent.


Heading to Ålesund after having spent a night in Volda. I could spend all my days like this – with wind in my face, total silence and just looking at the nature.

Sail, hike, fish, sleep, repeat
The days were mostly spent sailing (of course), reading (I finished two books that week), eating (somehow everything tastes better when eating in the boat), fishing, sleeping (two naps a day – I can learn to live with that!), visiting family and hiking the mountains. It is so great running around in the mountains that head straight into the big, dark ocean – looking down at the hidden sandy beaches and tiny dots that are fishing boats spread around across the sea.


Views like this all day, every day please.


Scouting for fish

When we are at Sunnmøre, we always hike Muletua, which is a small mountain top by a little, super charming fishing village. I love that place, as it has such great views everywhere you turn.


Nature perfection everywhere you turn at Muletua.

The Runde treasure
We also went to Runde, which is known for its rich bird life and the Runde treasure. Apparently there are still gold and silver coins lying at the bottom of the sea, after a ship went down there in 1725. I didn’t go searching for coins, I was happy just seeing some of the treasure in the exhibition at Runde Miljøsenter. And also, I was all about climbing that mountain!


View from the lower plateau at Runde.

I can’t wait to go sailing again, and I am already planning my next hike – this time in the Stavanger area, further south at the west coast than Sunnmøre. There are some great sights here as well, and I am so excited to strap on my hiking gear and just indulge in Norwegian nature yet again.

  • Live