How to improve your streaming to your TV

I have a Chromecast at home. Bought it for $35 at Best Buy years ago and use it to stream from my laptop or tablet - usually YouTube content, but not only. Quality is good, but not perfect. Streaming is inherently lossy. But for video, even an audiophile like me doesn't mind.

I tried to stream Warcraft from my Chromecast and the quality wasn't there. Video games have a higher refresh rate, and there's no buffering of all of the screen, because even I don't know what move I'll make next in a video game.

I got a new 55 inch smart TV and decided to make a change. The distance from my TV to my laptop on the couch isn't that far - a few meters. Probably for most of you too - you're sitting a bit away from the TV, but not on the other side of the room.

So I bought a 5 meter HDMI cable and carefully put it on the side of the room under or next to carpets. Plugged it into my laptop, and leveled up my rogue for a few hours. I look at both screens - when I'm fighting, I look at my laptop for what to click, and glance at the 55 inch TV every few seconds. It's cool!!

You want to see Ironforge and Stormwind in 55 inch glory!!

Streaming is wonderful, but consider plugging in a cable when the distance is short.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now