The only blue sky I'll be seeing for 10 days

20220104_130947.jpg

Continuing from my previous post two weeks ago, when I moved out from the property I sold before Christmas, I survived two weeks in a hotel room with lots of takeaway meals. During the last few days of our stay, my husband started to have a toothache and could barely eat solids. Then I had this genius idea to make him a hot nutritious meal of mash potato with tuna. Mash potato was the instant mix one with hot water, and I heated up the pot of tuna by placing it over a mug of hot water. Viola!!! Not the best gourmet food, but when you only have hot water, it's not a bad hot meal!!
20211227_150620.jpg


As of Christmas, I still hadn't decided where I would move to after the new year. In the end, due to my husband's toothache, I figured I really needed a place with cooking facilities so decided to book an airbnb for two weeks back in my hometown which is about 200km away from London where I was staying. We took advantage of our last few days in the capital and went out to meet up with some friends because we didn't know when we'd be back. On 3 January we caught the train back to my hometown.

My Airbnb was such a luxury after the hotel room. It's got a proper living room, which is bigger than it looks in the photo, a proper kitchen so I don't have to eat expensive takeaway all the time, and a very good size bedroom. All this for £51 a night, which is a bargain compared to my hotel room which was around £36 a night.

20220103_171129.jpg

20220103_171141.jpg

20220103_171955.jpg


This is perfect for the next two weeks until I decide on my next move. But given hubby's condition, I doubt we'll can go on a cruise now. It would be pointless going on board if he can't eat any of the free gourmet food. After we had settled down, we did a lateral flow test just to check everything is ok. I normally do that if I've been out quite a lot, especially as London is a hotspot. I did one on new years day as one of the friends we met up with a few days prior to that told us he had tested positive. That scared the shit out of me especially since I had been coughing for a few days!! Luckily the test came back negative! Phew!

Anything can happen in three days, and this test wasn't so lucky! We both tested positive! Just one line by C is negative. If you get a line by T no matter how faint it is, you are positive 😭

20220103_180157.jpg

Sometimes the lateral flow test are known to be false positive, so the next morning we went to get a PCR test. The results came back positive as well. Shit!
image.png

Now I have to isolate for 10 days and that throws my two week plan out of the window! Fortunately, I just have the normal cough and sore throat, not big deal. This flat is great to chill out for 10 days, but it's on the top floor and lacks window. This is the only one, which thankfully is quite a large one and has a nice frame. This will be the only blue sky I'll be seeing for 10 days.
20220104_130947.jpg

Luckily I'm back in my hometown with my family here. One of my sisters bought some groceries over, and another batch cooked me some meals which I can heat up in the microwave. Isn't it great to have family around. I dread what I would do if I was still stuck in the hotel room in London.

My little fairy is also here, poor thing, she has to self isolate with me!. By the way, if you want to enter my PUD Guessing Contest to guess what I've named her, you can do it here. The contest closes on Saturday 8th Jan 4pm GMT which is 22 hours from the time of my posting this. If you would like to join in the fun, head on over there now!!!

Stay safe everyone.

20220104_205630.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now