You invited them!!!

Onboarding plagiarists or scammers may negatively affect your account.



image source

So another 'practice' has reared its head on the HiveWatchers Discord server that I have to disagree with. A user had arrived seeking to invoke an appeal on behalf of a user they had onboarded; now HiveWatchers does not do proxy appeals (Appealing on someone's behalf) which, I can perfectly understand why, but then during the course of the discussions they were told:

"Continuing onboarding plagiarists or scammers may negatively affect your account since the community does not mindless onboarding with no due diligence."
Now, unless you're running some sort of plagiarist gang whereby you're secretly inserting gang members two or three at a time over the course of a few weeks, I presume in the hope of fleecing the rewards pool, I'm not sure anybody should be held responsible for the people they bring to Hive? And come on, who on earth would bother or has the time to do a full bio background vetting on that individual you met on Instagram who said they liked posting short stories of their pet snails love life anyway?

I don't remember seeing any rules or criteria for joining Hive? I thought we were glad to get someone, anyone! Now it turns out we have to vet those we offer an invitation to because we could ultimately be held responsible for their actions and behaviour? Just so everyone knows, @steevc onboarded me so it's all his fault.🤣

It almost makes me want to pack away that referral link, not that I've ever onboared more than one user anyway. 😉


My actual name is Pete. Here is why I have the username dickturpin.


You can also find me on Social Media

https://mastodon.org.uk/@dick_turpin
https://castlecannon.house/profile/srednivashtar
https://twitter.com/dick_turpin
https://www.facebook.com/peter.cannon3

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International License.

Creative Commons Licence
License explained: Examples
Create your license: Choose

Podcaster. FOSS, Linux & Creative Commons Advocate.

"Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don't matter and those who matter don't mind."
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency