When the going gets tough........

IMG_7171.jpeg

Another 1000kg of green coffee arrived today, and I roasted 9 full batches in the 30kg roaster - I'll do the math for you that's 270kg green coffee in but because roasting coffee dries it out the weight drops around 18%. 9 back to back roasts is pretty much a whole day by the time you cool and destone each batch - that extra time spent destoning the coffee is worth it though.

IMG_7175.jpeg

This little collection is all the stones my destoner has removed from the coffee I have roasted. While roasted coffee is ground and then filtered - so nobody is going to ingest a stone it would be filtered out while brewing, only heavy duty commercial grinders are powerful enough to chew through stones like this. If I sell a kilo of coffee beans with one of these bad boys in to someone with a small domestic bean to cup coffee machine or simple grinder the stone will jam the burr's and burn out the grinder motor - and as you would expect my customer will be sending me the repair bill.

How do stones end up in green coffee? Well it is simple really, coffee is dried out after harvesting on patios like this

IMG_1289.jpeg

Once it has dried it is collected up, processed and bagged - but however in depth the sorting of beans goes the odd stone is easily collected up and packed with the green coffee.

IMG_6898.jpeg

When this 30kg roaster arrived 1st April this year I had to wonder how much I would use it with Cornavirus closing most of my commercial customers between March and July - with many not reopening in July even because with 12 weeks of no income they had become bankrupt. But with a solid e-commerce background my business just shifted from large bulk commercial orders to many, many small domestic orders as people were forced to work from home but still wanted the fresh ground coffee experience they were used to from cafes. It's been harder work for lower margin - but at least I have been trading all year and still in business - many others have been far less lucky.

hotcoffee.gif

It's all about that daily grind (pun intended), and while 2020 has been the hardest working year of my life - I can't complain because Coronavirus has decimated vast numbers of wholesale businesses - shutting hospitality businesses has crippled them but at least they have Furlough staff payments to ease the pain - but the businesses who sell to hospitality - cafe's restaurants, hotels, leisure centres, theme parks - they are the forgotten collateral damage with no Government support - paying staff wages does not help a warehouse full of stock with nobody to sell it to.

IMG_7151.jpeg

Anyway while the future is bleak, at least I have Christmas Blend 2020! An exotic mix of Indonesia Old Brown Java, Indian Monsoon Malabar, El Salvador and Thailand Arabicas. Smokey and spicy with fruity undertones and a dark chocolate finish. I've taken it a little dark this year to give a richer cup - it's so good I might just have to drink it all myself!

https://whiterosecoffeeroasters.co.uk/collections/specialty-coffee/products/christmas-coffee-blend-arabica-roasted-coffee-1kg

And while the whole world is going Coronavirus crazy don't forget the UK has it's own Hive full API Node https://api.c0ff33a.uk

Screenshot 20201110 at 21.34.11.png

I've rebuilt Hivemind so many times it is driving me crazy, I have it running but there is a newer build I want to run but I don't want to wipe out my currently running node doing it. So I have one develop branch synching from scratch, but that it taking forever - and I am finishing off upgrades on server number 5 to try and restore the latest develop branch dump and get it synched up. As Hivemind is now a big bottle neck for api requests - I'm going to try and run at least two and maybe three Hivemind databases and use Jussi to split the requests between them - which should speed up my API node overall.

Active HIVE Witness alongside @derangedvisions, if you appreciate the effort and work we put into the HIVE blockchain please consider giving us a Witness vote.

We run five Hive servers, two Witness Servers, Hivemind Instance, Full Account History Node, FAT Node
https://api.c0ff33a.uk our full API server to use with your dapps and front end
https://hiveblog.c0ff33a.uk Our own condenser front end, exclusively using our own API server to access the Hive Blockchain. For the best experience use on Brave Browser with Hive Keychain plugin.

Proud sponsor with @derangedcontests of @lucksacks.com , free to play and cash out HIVE rewards, head to Luccksacks Website now and start playing.

Visit #brits Discord Channel Join #teamuk and make your posts easily found, post with the tag or create a post in teamuk community so your fellow Brits can easily find and support your work. Let's work together to make #hiveuk an active community on the Hive Blockchain.

#teamuk tag is followed and actively upvoted by @teamuksupport

I distribute coffee roasting machines and also espresso coffee machines and roast my own Speciality Coffee Range. being one of the premium coffee suppliers Yorkshire including a wide range of filter coffee sachets. Finally I have a dedicated website to my Artisan small batch roasted coffee featuring roast and post packs and super easy coffee subscriptions.

Become a White Rose Coffee Roasters affiliate and earn a percentage of the sales you bring in for sharing your affiliate page links Become A White Rose Coffee Roasters Affiliate now payout available via Pay Pal or HIVE based on the current exchange rate.

The Coffee Break Discord Voice Chat Show, in @thealliance Mondays 10pm UTC hosted by @c0ff33a and @enginewitty
[//]:# (!pinmapple 53.811481 lat -1.789255 long c0ff33a d3scr)
Catch me live and unleashed every week on @threespeak with my c0ff33 vlogs

created by @derangedvisions

Vote for my Witness

tumblr_n2jr1qMiFh1sqf5tdo1_400.gif

source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency