Living A Lie - Am I Even South African?

Hey Steemians

As we go about our lives and think we know all we need to, just when we think we know who we are, when we think we have it all figured out we get hit with something that questions our reality. Who we are as a nation? Who we are as people? My latest discovery has shook me to my core and has me questioning if I really am a South African.

Screenshot 2019-03-07 at 09.07.03.png

In South Africa we've come to love a beer called the Black Label, it was a symbol of strength, fortitude, the counter culture and hard work. Well mostly due to its marketing which ingrained that thought in our heads. It was and still is South Africa's favourite beer, a beer enjoyed all over the country regardless of differences.

The Carling Black Label is steeped so deep in our history, we never bothered to question its origins until now.

Turns out, Carling Black Label is Canadian!

Does that make us all Canadians now? Probably not, we would have to teach them to braai and play rugby first! But oh the lies we've been fed, this is there way to keep us drunk, give us beer bellies and make us even funnier than we already are. Damn you Canada! What are you getting out of this?

I'm told Carling Black Label, owned by the US group Molson Coors, is still available in Canada and the US and the UK. However, there is no business link with the South African beer. This does present a unique opportunity for us, to all get together regardless of our nations. We can all get together buy a 6 pack and chug it down and toast to one another.

Lol, I'm even starting to feel as if I need to visit Canada as a pilgrimage to try the original Black Label, who knows I might just have found a second home!

Source:

Have your say

Did you find any product origin discovery that shocked you? Share it with me in the comments

Let's connect

If you liked this post sprinkle it with an upvote or resteem and if you don't already, consider following me @chekohler
follow me


Get Daily Upvotes With SmartVote

Member of the SmartVote community

Trade Bitcoin, Ethereum, Litecoin, Doge or Dash for STEEM instantly

Check out blocktrades to quickly exchange popular cryptocurrencies for STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM Dollars or trade your STEEM, STEEM power or STEEM dollars for popular cryptocurrencies


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now