Saturday Feast // Yummy Aunt's Food

Disclaimer: the first photo was not my aunt's food😋. Read on to find out my aunt's food.

It was another Saturday again, and I had blogged before that Saturday is my visit-aunt day. This round, it was a bit special because I went to visit without my eldest son as he was off to assist his father at a food truck event.

This is good in a way that my aunt would have chance to talk to me stuff which usually would not talk in the presence of children — like war, friend's divorce or family problems, for us to pray and look to God together. And also, it would mean a special lunch for me because then my aunt could cook some food which my son wouldn't like to eat, meaning when he was there, the food was usually J-friendly (his name started with J😉).

Before I left the house, I cooked for my youngest son and my friend who was over here the weekend as her 'hotel' so that she could go to church with me the next day, at the same time helped to babysit my youngest son while I went out for visitation. Here was what I cooked for them.

tkgrbx31yw.jpg

Simple cooking

  1. Fried egg
  2. Stir fry vegetable with garlic
  3. Black bean pork soup
  4. Eat with warm brown rice

Then off I went to my aunt's place, ever so ready for lunch as I was soooooo hungry and I got to eat food not cooked by me. Without further ado, the first thing I saw when I reached was the plates of food were already on the table.

Here⤵️

8hllufyrd8.jpg

I was like overjoyed to see prawns...!! My aunt would never cook prawns when my son was around because he did not like prawns. I was a lucky girl. Like yayyyy!

Close up....

Pan fry fresh prawns and chicken breast fillet, yums!

bawn8vaq6z.jpg

I got to tell you the prawns were so fresh and sweet. Just a simple coat of the flour was enough because the flesh itself was yummy sufficient. And I could enjoy it to the max. And her chicken breast fillet or nuggets were one of our favourites. So simply but delicious, just marinade with salt and pepper then pan fried with a coat of flour. The chicken meat was always juicy and not dry at all. Finger lickin' good!

Glass Noodle Soup with Fishballs and lettuce

4pseerqs6t.jpg

Another simple tasty cooking, using anchovies broth with chicken bone broth. I actually ate two bowls of this soup. Haha. Could not resist.

Stir fry English Gourd with slices of meat

3ho93jdazk.jpg

The natural sweetness from the gourd with the salty mixture of sauce was heavenly. Just the kind we Hakka love. At times she would add some cuttlefish but this time she said she didn't have the dried cuttlefish with her. But, still super duper great taste!


I had my stomach soooo full I got to sit down for another half an hour listening to all her stories which she repeated few times — her good old boss where she worked last time as either expatriate chef or their maid or their babysitters, wars she had gone through, how she witnessed the world had changed, how she became fatherless, etc.

I can say this many times, I am one blessed girl to have an aunt like her.

❤️

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png
20180212_193505.png

thealliance_ladies_1.png

20180516_002249_0001.png
4i88GgaV8qiFU89taP2MgKXzwntUGAvkoQiKU7VxyD37q9aa9d37vam1ey34p61Vic24To2egoaWyzoxaU15ES7uTztUYnGRP9j7mgNK7FFc6KJWBZLdMtdUpe.png
esteem-banner-credits-dunsky-podanrj.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency