This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

The Hungry Pig | Tasteem Review

title_image


This wasn't my first option, let me just say out loud.

But, it was gloomy outside and it's been raining day and night for the past few days that if I stayed indoors anymore, I would turn into a potato couch and be eating leftovers from last night's dinner and I wasn't really very fond to it. It was Vietnam's Independence Day, 2nd Sept 2019 and I had no intention of staying indoors, at least not on this day. I've been on a food blogging expedition the last 2 days and I wanted to ensure I did the same today before heading back to work tomorrow.

So, browsing through Tripadvisor and looking at all the recommendations, I had my eyes set on another breakfast diner in town. However, upon reaching that diner, I was disappointed to find out that they were closed due to the National Day celebration. Checking through my phone, I decided to check out The Hungry Pig. I recall seeing some good comments on it so I thought with the gloomy & drizzling weather, I might as well hail for a taxi and head towards the place. Of course I did call them first and they confirm that they were open for breakfast.

IMG_20190902_113443.jpg

IMG_20190902_113437.jpg

The taxi ride took me about 15 mins since it was out of town and when I arrived, I was alarmed to know that it was at Pham Ngu Lao Ward. Not really a place one would go except if you're backpacking around Vietnam. This area is famous for the 24/7 non stop party lifestyle amongst the backpackers, not something I was used too.

IMG_20190902_123436.jpg

The Hungry Pig was located in one of the shops on the main street; there's no way one could miss it. Walking in, I immediately decided that the comments given on Tripadvisor were mainly by backpackers. Orders were made at the counter - Order & Pay Now Before Sitting. Such precise instructions. The menu was simple; serving mainly just sandwiches, hot beverages and local beer to it's diners. The prices are affordable, for sure. I paid only VND 120,000 for my sandwich and hot tea.

IMG_20190902_114937(1).jpg

IMG_20190902_114717.jpg

I couldn't complain since the sandwich portion was huge even for me and I had unlimited hot water refill for my tea; plus unlimited usage of internet wifi for as long as I sat there. Diners came in, ordered and paid for their meal, sat and finished up their sandwich and left. None sat more than an hour so the turnover of seats were very fast. Highly profitable for the owner, if I may say so myself.

IMG_20190902_113845(1).jpg

Interestingly, the decorations were kept simple except for a wall in front of me. They had credentials from previous diners on the Wall of Fame. I couldn't help but noticed one came from my home country, Malaysia !

IMG_20190902_123423.jpg

If you ever wanted something fulfilling and affordable, The Hungry Pig would be the place to go. Don't expect 5* service but you can receive 5* backpackers quality food.


Restaurant Information


The Hungry Pig
score
144 Cống Quỳnh, Phường Phạm Ngũ Lão, Quận 1, Hồ Chí Minh 700000, Vietnam


The Hungry Pig | Tasteem Review
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Bakeries and Patisseries


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png