Borneo Asian Food by SugarBun Review Kuala Lumpur Malaysia

title_image


Welcome to Borneo Asian Food in Malewati Mall Wangsa Maju Kuala Lumpur Malaysia. SugarBun was started on the Malaysian part of Borneo Island and has this second name in the west to let people know they are getting island food.

A lot of my friends here in West Malaysia are from Borneo, and this is their comfort food. I love it and I am glad to visit this restaurant anytime.

64x57pq0y2.jpg

There is plenty of seating, and it is not dark like it seems from this angle. I am coming down on the escalator from the parking.

grty2i7rgn.jpg

They have daily specials as seen here. RM 10.90 is 2.70 USD.

4qkd4ibr6u.jpg

$12 usd from 8 piece chicken with sides or $9.50 without the sides.

kf8yxgiqib.jpg

We were here on Sunday, so I got the Borneo Eco Fish meal special for 4.15 usd. I know I have been in SE Asia a long time, because I think this is expensive!

yk0ywyp6le.jpg

I got soda with my meal before I knew they had the Lemon Barley drink. Barley stops the "heaty" feeling of the tropics, and lemon is the perfect compliment. I get this drink when I see it, and my friends who did get it said it is wonderful here. Next time!

jpde3ktc4q.jpg

These sinks are a wonderful feature of all Malaysian restaurants and very nicely done at Borneo Asian Food. You will always find sinks somewhere near the tables at any restaurant so you can wash your hands before eating. This custom should spread world wide!

4soyzn631q.jpg

My Eco Fish Meal has arrived! The fish has attitude, the salad is pickled, and the rice is fragrant.

0wfh16984b.jpg

The brown sauce was spicy sweet and very good with the fish. The red was "blow your head off" SE Asian style hot and not my favorite thing.

qmteiyehwe.jpg

The long view.

5l12rynny0.jpg

My young friend in the next chair is from a Borneo family. He had the chicken and told me this is his favorite food.

f6lwbut251.jpg

He's showing me how eat like a Malaysian with a fork and a spoon. My one handed fork-eating style causes people to stare.

e7tf59oaf7.jpg

Look! Everyone can do this properly! (Except me.)

19qpcl24wm.jpg

Even so, I demolished the fish, veg, rice, and sweet sauce. I did the best I could with the red sauce, but I want to live!

vtgmhovqo5.jpg

And now off we go into the mall. Shopping!

j0quu41yi6.jpg

I have been to this restaurant a few times now and it never disappoints. I recommend it as a stop while on a trip to the Melawati Mall, and as a destination for itself.

Location information:

Borneo Asian Food SugarBun
Melawati Mall
Unit No. L5-10 & L5-11, UP2-01 Melawati Mall, 355, Jalan Bandar Melawati, Pusat Bandar Melawati
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Operating Hours: 10:00 am - 10:00 pm


Restaurant Information


Borneo Asian Food by SugarBun
score
355, Jalan Bandar Melawati, Pusat Bandar Melawati, 53100 Kuala Lumpur, Selangor, Malaysia


Borneo Asian Food by SugarBun Review Kuala Lumpur Malaysia
This post participated in the Tasteem contest Your weekly choice


What is Tasteem?

tasteem_banner.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency