THE DISAPPEARING ACT - PART 3

7/28/16

Hung-over and worn down from these past couple days, I showed up to work quite late again -- around noon. I called our NAS vendor to update them on the situation. Unfortunately, Stan wasn’t available so I got to talk to Cold Shoulder Sally. Stan was quite excited to help yesterday, but today ‘Ol Cold Shoulder didn't seem so interested in my problems; things must have been tough at home or something. The tech basically asked what the current situation was and said "Oh! Glad we fixed it..." No! You didn't fucking fix anything! I spent approximately 3 hours staring at my monitors watching nothing exciting happen while df ran every 2 seconds. By 3pm, it was announced that Mc*uck wouldn't be making it into the office due to our lawyer's elementary school aged children having some kind of silly school play that was surely bound to win a Tony Award. I'm sure his presence was absolutely necessary for the entire operation to execute. I guess I should clarify that Mc*uck recently married our contracted lawyer who is paid quite handsomely. Rain Man, Spit Fire, Noisy, and I used this information as our queue to exit stage left and call it a day.

There's really nothing else to report other than the party had all the same characters as always. Rain Man, Kevin Mitnick, and myself along with a small gaggle of other nameless IT souls were all present and discussing how terrible computers are. So far, I've only told Kevin that I'm writing and considering publishing these journal entries. When he discovered his character's name, he was slightly honored and insulted. I fear not everybody will find these stories as amusing as I.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now
Logo
Center