I Think We Are On The Onset Of Summer Here in the Philippines

We anticipated for 2 nights for storm Auring to hit us here in our island and last night it did and now we have a sunny morning. It was a rough night of winds, rain and thunderstorm. A for Auring, the name itself tells us that it's the first storm to hit the country this year. They do it alphabetically here. I am glad it was not destructive as they forecasted it to be. We were prepared for it, because it has been a slow moving typhoon from the South of the country. The wait was giving us anxiety though. After typhoon Haiyan hitting our country, the strongest storm to hit the Earth, Filipinos have never been the same when it comes to dealing with storms, we were traumatized!

The last storms of the rainy season usually happens in February and I am really hoping this is the onset of summer. After I got Covid, I am now enjoying a secluded life in my aunt's farm and soon I will build my own farmhouse nearby, in my aunt's lot. We plan to start purchasing materials tomorrow and start the building this coming weekend. I am excited to have a farmhouse. I have been living along the highway since forever and I kind of hate the 24/7 noise of the passing vehicles. That in itself is a cause of stress.

I tried to go around the lot where my aunt wants me to put my own farmhouse and I see a lot of wild flowers there. Looks like it has not been occupied ever since, the soil seems so rich and the grasses are so green. I dream to retire on there because everything looks peaceful. I guess when I have the house built, I will be busy planting herbs, veggies and all sorts of flowering plants. To be surrounded by nature is really a dream for me. I would be so proud not to leave my house and just invite my friends as guests. The place is not offgrid, in fact it has faster Internet reception on there because it's near the sea. OMG! I cannot contain my excitement!

Here are some of the wild flowers, I took pictures because I was so happy to feel the sun again after days of bad weather due to typhoon Auring. These wild flowers are telling me that this is it, summer is coming!


wild3.jpg


wild2.jpg


wild.jpg


wild1.jpg

All pictures are mine.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency