#SublimeSunday - Long weekend Spring Appreciation


IMG_7288.jpg

This post is for #SublimeSunday is inspired by @c0ff33a and #BeautifulSunday is initiated by @ace108 but the the lilacs are inspired by @tattoodjay and his post. I think this one would make a nice puzzle!

This week, we are in the middle of a long weekend in Canada. I think it is listed on the calendar as Victoria Day commemorating some royal birthday but we always called it May TwoFour weekend. When we were young, it was an extra day of almost summer partying and time to grab a two-four of beer for the long weekend. This weekend, I am just looking forward to some down time, a couple days to finish preparing the garden and maybe a few beers.

"image.png"


IMG_7278.jpg

The long weekend is also the earmark for planting most of your veggie garden. There was frost even this week but hopefully the weather will be nice on the long weekend, and not go below 0 Celsius again. Amen.

Plenty of mixing, preparation, potting and planting. I have a garden prep #GardenHive post in the pipe for the holiday Monday so tune in then for the launch of the Pickleman Family Garden!

"image.png"


IMG_7286.jpg

Every spring, I am reminded how many perennial flowers are in this garden. Many planted by the previous owner and others by us since moving here. I don't know or remember the names of half of them. Blooming throughout the year, the ones that pop up first in the cool spring are my favourite. Not just for colourful aesthetic but also for the first food the pollinators will enjoy in another wonderful summer.
"image.png"


IMG_7272.JPG

I do have a war to wage this year. There is a vine which has slowly just crawled up the lattice every year. Maybe I didn't watch closely enough last year but it has scaled the wall, slipped beneath the eaves troughs, and has climbed clear up the side of the house. As little as I enjoy trimming the thriving foliage, I enjoy it less when trim and eaves are pulled off and require repairing so it is on. Wish me luck.
"image.png"


IMG_7290.jpg

It was not all hard garden labour this sublime Sunday. I had the opportunity to languish in a nice afternoon nap. A few more chores and it was time for the dog park. Sir Fuzzyface loves to get in the way of progress and even unwittingly destroy plants of all sorts. An afternoon with the family in the yard is great but it can't compare to a run in his woods.

IMG_7292.jpg

Surprisingly few people out at the dog park but it is early evening so perhaps I missed the afternoon crowd. A couple dogs is all it takes to make Dogwars and we had some pretty fun looking romps through the green fields. The sun was setting and prevailing breeze brought a little chill but it was still comfortable for spring.
"image.png"


IMG_7294.jpg

After a fortification of the garden box defences and a little cleanup, we enjoyed burgers on the barbeque. You know what goes great with BBQ? A little BEER! If you are interested in beer and blogging, I would highly encourage you to check out #beersaturday and have a few pints with me at my entry this week at @zekepickleman/beersaturday-week-307-a-beer-for-all-occasions

Cheers to a very beautiful and sublime Sunday!

"text16.png"

zekepickleman.jpg

I am honoured to curate for:

"gPCasciUWmF5VZucjWuzmpXUomGMznGBossDDhhbxsv4o487wdZdsb3ASXRMf62sjs1HUwqb5DTZ2Zui3ZaiztAHSSu6S3QkVTp6wDRybhjkQBzs6LKK5dFVjUtX1HiTiYRVNg7aDm8JmQFBDq.png"

Are you gardening or wrapping it up for the year?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
18 Comments
Ecency