This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Marché de la Batte

"Sir, you can't take photo's here...!"
Given the fact that this is a public place and that I always ask people before I make a photo, I was hardly impressed.
"Why?
"You can't take pictures."
"Mais pourquoi," I repeated. "Just give me one reason not to."
"Parce-que ma frimousse va craquer votre truc!" (loosely translates as 'because my face will damage your camera.')
We both laughed.

18zo28 15.jpg

He began asking about my camera. If I was a professional. The sort of stuff I always get asked by people when I am photographing.
I say I come often to Liège because it is the best city in Belgium to make photos and now he really starts smiling.
"Really?"
I nod yes and the subject quickly changes to Liège and how he loves it and why he loves it.

18zo28 1.jpg

"Do you like football?"
I answered that I am not much of a football fan but if I do I always supporter for Standard de Liège because they have the best supporters; "Och, and by the way, what did they do last night?"

18zo28 13.jpg

Touchy subject, wrong question. Turned out they lost 4-0... I quickly cheered him up: the season is still long, Standard will be champion.

18zo28 8.jpg

The smile comes back again.
"What's your name?"
"Marc."
"Well Marc let's have a gin," and he pours out a large glass.

18zo28 6.jpg

I normally don't drink and certainly not at 10 am. but I am too afraid to disappoint him, so I sip the glass and what seems like gasoline sets my throat on fire.
He gives me a pat on the back. "Home brewed."
I wouldn't have figured...!

18zo28 10.jpg

I took my leave and with a light heart and heavy legs set my way, convinced that the photo's I was going to take from here on would be rubbish. Only in Liège!

18zo28 2.jpg

Pictures taken august 2017, Pentax K-5 DA 20-40 Limited.