This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

The spell of Italian street markets

Fridays are my favorite days! Behind my apartment, one of Milan's best street markets happens every Friday, rain or shine. Have you ever experienced Italians street markets? They are beautiful, colorful, entertaining, mesmerizing, loud, intense, crazy - all at the same time!

IMG_1268.JPG

Right now it's the season of some of my favorite fruits: berries, cherries, apricots, melons and peaches are starting to make an appearance. This morning, the seller of fresh mozzarella di buffalo convinced me to try a sample, and before you know it, completely unaware to me, I have a kilo of it on my hands and I'm handing him my life savings. Then the guy from the stand with fresh bread made with "natural yeast left to rise for at least 5 days" somehow hypnotizes me and I end up with this amazing loaf of bread that cost me my arm. I mean, they are SO damn convincing, these Italian street vendors. Everything hapens so incredibly fast, they put a spell on you, you don't understand what's happening, you lose all aelf-control and before you know it, you have no more cash in your wallet, but who cares because. Mozzarella di buffalo! Bread left to rise for 5 days! Cherries "from the museum!" (Meaning, they are so good, they are like a work of art ) Tomatoes dried in "the sun in Sicily!"😂 Ahhh....

I always go home with WAY more than I had intended to buy. Today was no different. I also bought 8 jars of honey to take with me to Costa Rica 🙈 8!
And cherries "from the museum," of course. Next time, I have promised myself to remain strong, undistracted and to break this damn spell 🤗

IMG_1476.JPG

If you are ever in Milan, here is a map of the daily street markets happening in different neighborhoods, on different days. Put it on top of your list. It is a beautiful, cultural experience!

https://mercati-settimanali.it/Milano/mercati_settimanali-tutti