Master Above All Masters, Chapter 3

Chapter 3
Previously, Nilas’ son has been stolen by an old man in a dogsled, who flew off into the sky.

Old Nilas was dumbstruck. What had become of his beloved son? What would he tell his wife? What COULD he tell her?? That someone had flown away with their son???
After a while he began walking again, toward some trees far away. “If I’m going to die, let it at least be someplace protected from this icy wind,” he thought. The trees became a wood, and a very thick wood, as he approached. When he finally found a place to rest and eat, he discovered the small bottle of aquavit. “Margrete may be unhappy, but she still loves me. Here is something to protect me from the cold.” One small sip was enough to warm his body and calm his spirit. He was soon asleep.
The next day he tramped on. The woods seemed to grow ever darker. His compass was useless, as it just spun in slow circles. After a long, long time he came to a little hut under a rock, and outside stood an old woman drawing water out of a well. Nilas noted with surprise that as she used both hands to pull on the rope, she lifted the bucket with a third hand, which was attached to her nose.
“Good evening, Mother,” said Nilas.
The old woman started and stared. “Who is this calling me mother after so very many years?”
“I have walked a long way, and could do with a rest. May I lodge here with you tonight?”
She looked at him with a sly smile. “Do I look like the kind of woman that would allow a stranger in my house, to murder me in my sleep?”
Nilas smiled back, “What a pity”, he said. “My dear wife tucked a lovely bottle of aquavit in my rucksack, just to share with some kind person I might meet along the way.” The old woman’s eyes grew wide, “Well, now that I think, you don’t look like a stranger at all! Come in while I get supper started.”
Niklas was grateful for a warm bed to sleep in, and a hot meal in his belly. As he and the old woman sat comfortably before the fire and sipped aquavit, he asked her if she knew of Father Weatherbye, who had flown away with his son. “No, but I am ruler of all the four-footed beasts. Perhaps one of them might know him.” With that, she drew out a small pipe and played such a delightful tune that very soon her kitchen yard was filled with animals of every shape and size. But alas, none had heard of Father Weatherbye.
Niklas’ face sank. “No need to be discouraged, my son. I have two sisters, and one of them may know of this. Tomorrow you must leave early and take my dogs and sledge. They know the way to her house, but it’s three hundred miles away.”

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now