Master Above All Masters, Chapter 2

Chapter 2 –
The next morning, when Niklas came to breakfast he found his parents making food for a journey, and packing it carefully into two rucksacks.
“Where are we going?” he asked.
“WE aren’t going anywhere, said his mother. “YOU are going to find a master.”
“Don’t worry, my dear, I’m going with you,” said Nilas.
At that Jack felt some relief, and settled down to eat, and listened to the discussion.
“Firestarter?” “Packed” “Tarp” “Packed” “Compass?” “Ah, thank you, my dear, I’ll get that right now.”
As Nilas went to find his compass, Margrete reached to the highest shelf on the sideboard and pulled down a small bottle of aquavit. Jack’s eyes widened. That bottle rarely came out of hiding, and then only on high holidays. Margrete looked carefully at the level of the contents, and poured half of it into a travel jug. She glanced at Jack’s expression. “This isn’t for you!” she said, scolding. “And I expect you to replace it when you have become Master Above All Masters.” “What am I supposed to do with it, then?” Jack wondered aloud. He had never been allowed to taste the magic elixir.
{Memories of mother being happy, relaxed, sociable, flirtatious…}
“I expect you will meet many travelers, and having a small gift to offer is always a good way to start a conversation, and ask for advice. But don’t give away the whole bottle! Just a sip.”
Niklas and Nilas set off later that morning. They went north, toward the castle, with a long list of craftsmen to visit. Each one was at the top of his craft, and could have trained Jack to make things just as fine as he himself could. But each one shook his head when he was asked if he could train Jack to be a Master Above All Masters.
They were discouraged, but knew better than to go back to the cottage, back to Margrete’s wrath, so they headed farther north, farther away from home than either of them had ever been. The wind grew colder and the days shorter. Each step made a frozen crunch sound.
Suddenly, in the distance, they heard the sound of baying, a deep voice shouting at his beasts and the crack of a whip. Very soon a large sled came into view, pulled by a team of huge dogs. The man with the whip was standing at the back, astride the runners.
As soon as he spied the travelers, he pulled on the brake, and shouted to the dogs to stop. “Whither away?” asked the man.
“Well, I’m going to bind my son here to someone who can teach him a trade. But my wife comes from fine folk, and she insists that he become a Master Above All Masters.”
“Well met, then,” said the driver, “I’ve been looking for just such a lad. Up into the sled, then, boy!” And with that, the man cracked his whip, and the dogs leapt into the air, sled, man, boy and all, and flew away.
“No, no!” cried Nilas. You haven’t told me your name, nor where you live! When will I see my son again??”
“Oh,” said the master,” I am at home in the north and south, east and west, and my name is Father Weatherbye. Come here again in a year and a day, and I’ll tell you if I like him.”

HERE IS CHAPTER ONE - https://steemit.com/story/@violacasey/master-above-all-masters

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now