trip down Memory Lane - Deep Forest

It has been a very long time ago I've listened to the first ever album by the French Duo - Eric Mouquet and Michel Sanchez (who left the group years later) - working under the name Deep Forest. Those of you who lived early 90s, probably know them, or at least one track "Sweet Lullaby". When not, try the play button below.


© Deep Forest (source)

Early 90s I was still telling my brother who was listening to electronic dance music through pirate radio stations for years already, that type of music was no music...

...even though I was into electronic and instrumental music for as long as I know, for some reason the rave music didn't click with me.

But Deep Forest did!

Sure, Deep Forest is more accessible than hardcore or early techno and house, but I did like experimental instrumental music as well, so that was not it, I think. The stories my brother created by going to Parkzicht (Rotterdam, Netherlands), the early raves like Mayday (Dortmund, Germany) and Mysteryland (Netherlands) didn't persuade me to dive into the music, the experience, the adventure.

And then... it must have been '93 or '94... I joined my brother to Maribor (Slovenia) for an X-MAS vacation, and we ended up at this underground semi-illegal rave at Pekarna, a spot for the artistic, a spot for the super underground music. This is where my love for the - at that time - 'obscure' underground techno started!

But before all of this, it was Deep Forest, amongst others :)

Today listening to the "World Mix" Album - their first album + an extra CD with several remixes - I was surprised I still like the album a lot and I'm glad I came across the CD while cleaning my house.

Did you listen yet? and NJOYed?


Artist: Deep Forest
Album: Deep Forest
Year: 1992
Country: France

source youtube | spotify "World Mix"

Tracks

Deep Forest
Sweet Lullaby
Hunting
Night Bird
The First Twilight
Savana Dance
Desert Walk
White Whisper
The Second Twilight
Sweet Lullaby (Ambient Mix)

Artist Music

Spotify Beatport Bandcamp Soundcloud YouTube

Artist Discography

Discogs

Artist Gigs

Website

Artist Website

Website


Music Library with more than 250 Entries

blockchain curator and reviewer for @illuminati-inc
you like stories and music? check @qsounds

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency