"Letter to an Inmate" by @garryke - Reposted by Charlie Shrem

This letter was written by a long time friend @garryke to me while I was in prison. I cried when I read this and called Courtney to read it to her. I've kept this letter, like other letters but wanted to share this beautiful message with you.

If you like this, please follow @garryke. He will be writing some amazing things for Steem. All rewards from this post will go to @garryke


Hey Shrem,

I'm sorry it took so long to contact. I honestly thought I had, until I stop to think about it the other day.

Anyway, I hope you're doing well. I can't imagine what it must feel like for you but I do hope things are at least a little more normal now.

I'm doing well myself. I stopped all interest in IT completely now. I couldn't possibly live at a computer screen for the rest of my life. Instead, I've taken to pursuing a dream I've had ever since I was a child. I've always wanted to be a writer. So I wrote my story, titled "the order of Ivayla", and be gone recently to seek an agent. No luck yet but fingers crossed. I have handwritten the synopsis and put it with this letter. I thought you might be interested or curious.

One thing you might be interested to hear. My girlfriend lives in Devon ( seven in Cornwall are notorious in the UK for having hills everywhere) One day when I was there we found this huge mountain. I got curious and said "I wonder what the view from up there looks like "so we went up and on my gosh we were amazed. It was a tough climb on foot and the area in particular is surrounded by Valley's. At the top of geography became obvious as we look down on these valleys for miles and miles! But that was not the best bit. There was a meadow with grass is high as our knees and off to the left a small wooded area. In that, near its entrance, people had carved their names into the trees. One of them looked a bit like ....

..... you get the picture. Beneath it, two pairs of initials dated 1943. Really made me wonder, the place was beautiful and could easily have been a place of solitude for a young couple, away from the havoc of the war. Maybe it was a female in love with the soldier who was about to leave. Maybe she never saw him again and that little mark on the tree symbolizes not only love that was vanquished but also during times of great fuck all day or turmoil, there will always be a sense of peace. It's so strange don't you think?

Not really sure what else to say I haven't written a letter since first school 20 years ago. So how are you doing? Have you adjusted well? Hopefully you'll be out soon enough.

Regards

Garry Edwards


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
17 Comments
Ecency