The "flies eating bird shit "-like moth 🦋 🪰💩

Recently I have shared some interesting examples of animal mimicry, like this moth that mimics jumping spiders and this ant-like mantis.

If you thought those two were cool though then get ready to get your mind blown cause this one is really crazy 🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯

Today's animal is Macrocilix maia, a moth in the family Drepanidae found in India, Japan, Taiwan, Korea, China, Peninsular Malaysia, Sumatra and Borneo.

So..this one employs a mimicry tactic that just... nevermind. Here's a photo instead

Macrocilix_maia.jpgsource

Yeah.. It looks like two flies gorging on bird shit 😂😂😂

I guess that's more then enough to make potential predators be like "ewwwwwwww, I am not touching that"

But wait. There's more! Apparently it has a fitting odor too:

The moth features two symmetrical patterns resembling flies feeding on bird droppings. The moth has a pungent odor. source

So yeah, a moth fooling both the smell and eyesight of predators!

Interestingly, the pattern is visible with the wings both open or closed:

When the wings are open, a pattern is observed that looks like flies eating bird droppings. When the wings are closed, the patterns remain observable source

Here's another photo of this disgustingly amazing creature

download (16).jpeg
source

And another one

866.jpgsource

Unfortunately I couldn't find any videos to share but there are plenty of photos if you want to do a quick Google search!

Other than it's peculiar looks and smell and there isn't much anything notable to say about this little fella.

Geez. I think I overdid myself this time. I think I'll have a hard time finding something equally bizarre anytime soon





P.S. Mandatory @epic-fail tag is mandatory. I bet he will love this little guy 😂😂😂

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
29 Comments
Ecency